Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3D-Coat 3.7 updates thread


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1786 replies to this topic

#661 polyxo

polyxo

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2012 - 08:49 PM

It is neither impudence or nonsense to say that development is likely to be slower - it's just logical given...
/b


Well I still think it clearly is. Who's posting here is just a small minority of people actually using that Software.
We don't know the numbers. Only thing is that I sometimes read "Feature A or feature B added for some Medical Application
(last time it was the Voxel Layer Tool). What should People from such Industries post in this Entertainment Industry geared Forum?
They likely address Andrew directly.

#662 simmsimaging

simmsimaging

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 225 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2012 - 09:11 PM

Well I still think it clearly is. Who's posting here is just a small minority of people actually using that Software.
We don't know the numbers. Only thing is that I sometimes read "Feature A or feature B added for some Medical Application
(last time it was the Voxel Layer Tool). What should People from such Industries post in this Entertainment Industry geared Forum?
They likely address Andrew directly.


I am not really sure what you are saying, but it doesn't really matter - let's just leave it be as it is wasted time for both of us. I posted my comments primarily so that Andrew has feedback from his customer base and adding a data point about our priorities, not to convince other users in particular :)
Brett Simms
www.simmsimaging.com

#663 polyxo

polyxo

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2012 - 09:38 PM

Seriously, what good is it going to do, ultimately, piling on feature after feature WHEN YOU HAVE HUGE PROBLEMS ON THE DOCKET THAT NEED THAT DEVELOPMENT TIME? This is what you still do not get. I could care less about catering to a very small 3D Printing market....at least at this stage. Feed your own children, first....is my outlook on it. It was never designed to cater to your market. It won't help the application one bit if it continues to offer feature after feature, while ignoring the problems that already exist.

3D Coat needs to refine and fix the features it ALREADY HAS before taking on more fluff...I mean stuff. When I have to deal with persistent issues..longstanding issues while you get your new little, shiny toy (and ask for even more, to boot), yeah I get frustrated and speak up. Voxel Painting does absolutely N-O-T-H-I-N-G for me as a user, and I've been using the entire toolset in 3D Coat for about 4 years now.


What you don't seem to get is that you certainly won't raise Andrews interest in a change of his development route by shouting and giving him and everyone who
doesn't explicitly agree with you a bad time.
You would be surprised btw. how much I do agree that a lot of fundamental work had to get done.

I feel however, that final Implementation and cumbersome fine tuning should not be Andrews Job - it's evident that he needs to push the envelope here and then
after months of Bug-Squashing. I'm afraid you're just wasting your time and poisoning Atmosphere completely in vain.
It probably was way better to find a Programmer who sees his Job in making a fine Tool from many ingenious ideas.

#664 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 23 February 2012 - 09:39 PM

I can appreciate a developer's interest in new challenges even perhaps where older challenges need optimizing.. For those who remember, TrueSpace was innovative for it's time but the boss had interests that seriously diverged from the bulk of users and now you can get the program for free like Bryce. I'm sure that will not be the fate of 3D Coat and all the various complaints will be resolved with the release of version 4.

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#665 polyxo

polyxo

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:51 AM

But you will just keep trying to pile on more and more and more requests. Meanwhile those of us who have been waiting a long time for Andrew to get around to some problematic areas of the app, have to wait all the longer...so if I'm yelling it's you are standing on my toes, as it were.

So you are seriously implying that Andrew adds large new Features into the program only because I tell him so?
That is a good one, really.

#666 cl-apps

cl-apps

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 01:40 AM

Hello all, just installed the lasted beta on the mac and was just wondering how you get your shaders back after they seem to have vanished? I tried the delete the Custom folder but that didn't work.

Any help would be great!

Chris

#667 cl-apps

cl-apps

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 02:15 AM

Also, i know this is a beta feature but is there a way to auto retopo a *painted* voxel sculpt? I've just tried a couple of times and on the mac it just spins the beach ball indefinitely.

3D Coat looks pretty awesome, for the short period I've been using it in Education mode I think it's definitely worth the upgrade to Pro:) I've invested a lot of time in ZBrush but to have the power of voxel freedom / retopo and painting all in one with no pain for game character modelling is fantastic!

#668 jedwards

jedwards

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 02:21 AM

I've been using this app since before voxels were added and I don't really feel the same way. Andrew's approach to features has been what allowed me to continue to use the app in more and more ways. Dealing with the odd bugs and quirks has been a small price to pay for the massive amount of growth this software has seen in such a short time. I can't even complain about the lack of bug fixing really as it doesn't really seem to affect me - not in comparison to the benefits I've seen from all the new features. I feel like he has struck a great balance between growing and maintaining the software - better than almost any other application I've used. I don't think I'd want to see that change. Basically I like what he's doing and hope he continues to work this way for the life of the program.

#669 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:38 AM

Hello all, just installed the lasted beta on the mac and was just wondering how you get your shaders back after they seem to have vanished? I tried the delete the Custom folder but that didn't work.

Any help would be great!

Chris

Please send letter with that desription to support.linux@3d-coat.com

#670 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 04:53 AM

3D Coat needs to refine and fix the features it ALREADY HAS before taking on more fluff...I mean stuff. When I have to deal with persistent issues..longstanding issues while you get your new little, shiny toy (and ask for even more, to boot), yeah I get frustrated and speak up. Voxel Painting does absolutely N-O-T-H-I-N-G for me as a user, and I've been using the entire toolset in 3D Coat for about 4 years now.

Please stop telling this idea constantly. I know this idea and I don't agree. To be honest I tired of hearing that I am doing useless things even if I am doing most of your requests but almost impossible ones [in terms of time required to do it divided by usefulness]. It is at least how it looks from my point of view. There are elementary basics of what can be called respectful conversation.

I am repeating again that voxel paint is need to be able not to redo all work if some changes was required in scene topology when all painting is done. It is very frequent situation in studios where characters should be altered by request even after they almost finished. Without voxel painting you should change model and do all painting again. There are so many reasons why is it important. Color scanning, rapid prototyping, just expressing without need of retopo and other.

#671 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:01 AM

Also, i know this is a beta feature but is there a way to auto retopo a *painted* voxel sculpt? I've just tried a couple of times and on the mac it just spins the beach ball indefinitely.

3D Coat looks pretty awesome, for the short period I've been using it in Education mode I think it's definitely worth the upgrade to Pro:) I've invested a lot of time in ZBrush but to have the power of voxel freedom / retopo and painting all in one with no pain for game character modelling is fantastic!

Possibly AUTOPO parameters was incorrect. Set required polycount to 3000 and Intermediate res to 180.
Autopo should work regardless on painted or not object is.

#672 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 05:59 AM

I understand where you are coming from Andrew, but my response was a reply to someone essentially stating Vertex painting in 3D Coat was/is the Holy Grail of texture painting. It frankly is not, and I showed clear examples in the application as to why. Perhaps you'll excuse me, as I've been fighting with the application all day, so frustration is at a fever pitch here.

Yes, I understand frustration if something crashes or works not as expected. We will always solve it in constructive way. If something fails I am helping quickly.

As example - I have one crazy bug in photoshop for years that is well known and is very obvious and annoying (ESC). It is 2 min to fix for developer. But no one will fix it or do some update to address it...

#673 Eric Cosky

Eric Cosky

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:43 AM

Hi,

I'm checking out the voxel painting feature which seems very useful to me because I think it might help my workflow by just painting the voxels and convert to per-poly painting only when I need to export a mesh to Softimage. The hope is to be able to make fairly major geometry changes without having to go through a lot of hoops to rebuild the texture for those portions of the geometry that haven't changed. One question though: does voxel painting support specular? I am having no luck getting specular painting to have any effect. I am probably doing something wrong, but I thought I'd just ask in case this feature was limited to color only. If it doesn't support specular, then I think I'll need to find another way to do what I need here.

On a related note, if anyone is familiar with a workflow that would allow me to edit the voxels of a model and while retaining previous texture work I'd appreciate a few tips, thanks. I see a few ways to bake textures in 3DC and I'm not sure which way would be best for just updating an existing voxel object where there is an old version of that object in the paint room with the texture I'd like to bake on to the new geometry.. thanks for any suggestions.

#674 cl-apps

cl-apps

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 09:48 AM

I'm not entirely sure how I fixed this but the disappearing shaders came back after messing with Edit > Preferences and then toggling either ShowBetaTools or Restore Windows (which is more probable). Anyway, thought I'd mention this if anyone else is having the same issue.

#675 cl-apps

cl-apps

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:36 AM

Possibly AUTOPO parameters was incorrect. Set required polycount to 3000 and Intermediate res to 180.
Autopo should work regardless on painted or not object is.


Just trying these settings and having the same issue, however, I just tried an auto retopo with no painting and looks like there may be a bug on the mac beta as auto retopo has stopped working altogether for me at least. I go through the dialogs then get the spinning beach ball. This is when trying any of the AUTOPO options. Anyone else having the same issue?

#676 SERGYI

SERGYI

    Developer

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPip
  • 121 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2012 - 11:57 AM

Attempts to switch into proxy mode creating hangs.


Hello! Regarding hangs on switching to proxy mode. I can’t reproduce that. So please specify:
1. Does it hang on default voxel sphere (just run 3D-Coat, select default voxel sphere, click on “proxy mode” icon in Vox Tree)? Or does it hang only on specific model?
2. What operation do you perform before entering “proxy mode”? Maybe some import of texture (and in what format, like “jpg”)?
3. Do you see this problem in previous builds (like 04C)?

#677 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:48 PM

Possibly AUTOPO parameters was incorrect. Set required polycount to 3000 and Intermediate res to 180.
Autopo should work regardless on painted or not object is.


I confirm this. On the mac build, trying to autopo for PPP crashes 3dcoat. (parameters at default -180, 3k, just a cube at 250k voxels).
Edit: Autoretopology is brocken. Any attempt crashes 3dcoat.
Please, Sergyi fix it. Completely useless MAC build.

I tried mantis but the current 3dcoat version isn't there, so
OSX 10.6.8
2xXeon 16 threads, nvidia GPU, 12GB ram, macpro.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#678 wailingmonkey

wailingmonkey

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 701 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 10:12 PM

can anyone confirm whether texture baking to a low-poly object (another model note in the scene) is
working for diffuse? (3.7.05B CUDA 64-bit windows)

I ran an occlusion on a higher res model, then tried to bake to another different low-poly model (same
placement in 3D space, just different Sub-D and UVs) and ended up with just a flat grey diffuse...
-portfolio-


Vista Ultimate SP1 64bit | Q6600 2.40 GHZ | 8GB RAM | Nvidia GTX 560ti

#679 Tser

Tser

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 292 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 February 2012 - 05:58 AM

I confirm this. On the mac build, trying to autopo for PPP crashes 3dcoat. (parameters at default -180, 3k, just a cube at 250k voxels).
Edit: Autoretopology is brocken. Any attempt crashes 3dcoat.
Please, Sergyi fix it. Completely useless MAC build.

I tried mantis but the current 3dcoat version isn't there, so
OSX 10.6.8
2xXeon 16 threads, nvidia GPU, 12GB ram, macpro.

I also get a lockup on Linux...

#680 The Candy-floss Kid

The Candy-floss Kid

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 February 2012 - 05:01 PM

1. Does it hang on default voxel sphere (just run 3D-Coat, select default voxel sphere, click on “proxy mode” icon in Vox Tree)? Or does it hang only on specific model?


Hi Sergyi, placing any voxel primitive in the workspace or any sculpted voxel form and attempting to enter proxy mode freezes 3DCoat

2. What operation do you perform before entering “proxy mode”? Maybe some import of texture (and in what format, like “jpg”)?.


It appears that the evident operation to create the freeze is attempting to switch from any voxel form into proxy mode at any point of the work flow.

3. Do you see this problem in previous builds (like 04C)


No, 04C does not freeze when switching to Proxy Mode


Michalis :Edit: Autoretopology is brocken. Any attempt crashes 3dcoat.

I can confirm this also


Also, but maybe not a bug - it is no longer possible to change color of the default shader in voxel mode using the color picker.
Perhaps this is a deliberate change since vertex paint i.e nothing can be given a color in the shader settings until vertex paint is applied?





10.5.8
2GHz Intel Core Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
NVIDIA GeForce 9400




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users