Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

lighting inprovment


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 blackant Master

blackant Master

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:france

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:14 PM

hi, i worked on a statue and made a render inside 3Dcoat.
i can't find any good light parameters, the result is too smooth, and can't be contrasted...

don't know if there is a solution for that?



#2 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:14 PM

These are the settings I've been using for a long time. You can use them or use them as a starting point. Hopefully that will help.

Attached Thumbnails

  • render_options.png

Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#3 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,495 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:35 AM

http://3d-coat.com/f...931

#4 blackant Master

blackant Master

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:france

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:06 PM

thanks
philnolan3d

your parameters are better than mine, it helped me.
by the way, i tryed to add some lighting for rimlight and the result is simply horrible !!

for just a little red lighting, it influ on the entire mesh...

correct.jpg

#5 Britain

Britain

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California Desert, Mexico
  • Interests:Photography, Back Packing, Rock Climbing in modified vehicles.

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:12 PM

Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?

#6 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:18 PM

I haven't really don't much with adding extra lights myself. I just use the render room for little test renders, then do my final renders in LightWave.


Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?


I wish, I've been requesting that for a long time. The closest I could come up with was to save that screenshot and manually enter them from that every time.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#7 The Candy-floss Kid

The Candy-floss Kid

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2012 - 09:23 PM

Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?

cntrl+ up arrow saves view - cntrl+forward/right arrow scrolls through saved views and the lighting is saved with the scene in the render room - so you had to save variations of the file.

#8 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 14 June 2012 - 11:43 PM

What do the camera shortcuts have to do with anything?
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#9 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,688 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 15 June 2012 - 09:56 AM

What do the camera shortcuts have to do with anything?


Read a little closer. :)

cntrl+ up arrow saves view - cntrl+forward/right arrow scrolls through saved views and the lighting is saved with the scene in the render room - so you had to save variations of the file.


Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#10 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 15 June 2012 - 10:38 AM

I read that, but what does it have to do with camera angles?
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users