Jump to content


Photo

lighting inprovment


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 blackant Master

blackant Master

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:france

Posted 12 June 2012 - 07:14 PM

hi, i worked on a statue and made a render inside 3Dcoat.
i can't find any good light parameters, the result is too smooth, and can't be contrasted...

don't know if there is a solution for that?



#2 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,394 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 12 June 2012 - 08:14 PM

These are the settings I've been using for a long time. You can use them or use them as a starting point. Hopefully that will help.

Attached Thumbnails

  • render_options.png

Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#3 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,824 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 13 June 2012 - 02:35 AM

http://3d-coat.com/f...931

#4 blackant Master

blackant Master

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 258 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:france

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:06 PM

thanks
philnolan3d

your parameters are better than mine, it helped me.
by the way, i tryed to add some lighting for rimlight and the result is simply horrible !!

for just a little red lighting, it influ on the entire mesh...

correct.jpg

#5 Britain

Britain

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southern California Desert, Mexico
  • Interests:Photography, Back Packing, Rock Climbing in modified vehicles.

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:12 PM

Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?

#6 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,394 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 13 June 2012 - 08:18 PM

I haven't really don't much with adding extra lights myself. I just use the render room for little test renders, then do my final renders in LightWave.


Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?


I wish, I've been requesting that for a long time. The closest I could come up with was to save that screenshot and manually enter them from that every time.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#7 The Candy-floss Kid

The Candy-floss Kid

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2012 - 09:23 PM

Phil,
Any way to save the render light settings?

cntrl+ up arrow saves view - cntrl+forward/right arrow scrolls through saved views and the lighting is saved with the scene in the render room - so you had to save variations of the file.

#8 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,394 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 14 June 2012 - 11:43 PM

What do the camera shortcuts have to do with anything?
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#9 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,288 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 15 June 2012 - 09:56 AM

What do the camera shortcuts have to do with anything?


Read a little closer. :)

cntrl+ up arrow saves view - cntrl+forward/right arrow scrolls through saved views and the lighting is saved with the scene in the render room - so you had to save variations of the file.


Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#10 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,394 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 15 June 2012 - 10:38 AM

I read that, but what does it have to do with camera angles?
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users