Jump to content


Photo

Free brushes


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 07:38 AM

These are advertised as being for zbrush but they should work just fine in 3DC too.

http://www.michaeldu...free-stuff.html
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#2 Polygoon

Polygoon

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Interests:Graphic art, Sailing, Fishing, Wildlife.

Posted 17 April 2012 - 07:52 AM

Thanks Phil!

Win.7 64 . DirectX 11.0
Intel Core i7
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
4.0.04B1. CUDA 64
Email me


#3 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 09:37 AM

Just to be clear, it's the Alpha versions. And actually it looks like it may require more than just drag and drop, the PSDs are in a strange format. that crashes 3DC and doesn't even look right in my image viewer, I can load most of them in Photoshop though. Maybe there's some way to automate a conversion to something more normal.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#4 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:06 AM

Wow some of these brushes are really nice!
Thanks for sharing! :)
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#5 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:07 AM

Just to be clear, it's the Alpha versions. And actually it looks like it amy require more than just drag and drop, the PSDs are in a strange format. that crashes 3DC and doesn't even look right in my image viewer, I can load most of them in Photoshop though. Maybe there's some way to automate a conversion to something more normal.


It also crashed over here.. I did a batch convert on all brushes and now I can import them with ease.. would you like me to upload them?
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#6 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:17 AM

Well What I'm doing is converting them and creating a 3DC PenPack file for each one. I intend to share the PenPacks with the author when they're finished. I am curious what you used for your batch conversion.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#7 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:28 AM

In photoshop I created an action which does --> multichannel to rgb image conversion --> save as TGA, I ran this on all files.
Now they import with no problem. If you want to use these for the 3DC PenPack I would like to upload them for you.
  • Javis likes this
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#8 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,180 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:32 AM

In photoshop I created an action which does --> multichannel to rgb image conversion --> save as TGA, I ran this on all files.
Now they import with no problem. If you want to use these for the 3DC PenPack I would like to upload them for you.



That would be great if you could, thank you!
Free Videos|Video Training & More
Messiah|Modo|3DC+Video Training Bundles
Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/

#9 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:34 AM

That would be great if you could, thank you!


Link coming up in a few minutes of uploading..!
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#10 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:41 AM

Oh OK I did the same thing but just saving them as PSD, that works fine.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#11 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 10:59 AM

Ah ok, for some reason I prefer TGA over PSD.. I always use it in my workflow so I got used to converting to TGA.. :)
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#12 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:03 AM

Yeah I normally render as TGA but I've been trying to use PSD files lately, it just seems to make sense.

Here are the files as 9 Pen Packs (58MB):
http://dl.dropbox.co...nam_Brushes.zip
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#13 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 17 April 2012 - 11:09 AM

And here are the files as .TGA file:

https://skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?cid=cc28f919b28c325b&resid=CC28F919B28C325B!128&parid=root
  • Javis likes this
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#14 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,434 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 17 April 2012 - 01:29 PM

TY!

#15 Polygoon

Polygoon

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 244 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Australia
  • Interests:Graphic art, Sailing, Fishing, Wildlife.

Posted 17 April 2012 - 02:47 PM

Some of the stroke brush's (carve etc.)may need inverting in PS also, the ones that are white on the outer. I think they are designed to work as inverted tool (Brush)action for Zbrush that has automatic Zsub characteristics. Though they may have a use doing discrete dots.

Win.7 64 . DirectX 11.0
Intel Core i7
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680
4.0.04B1. CUDA 64
Email me


#16 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 17 April 2012 - 04:59 PM

Thanks guys for the freebies but what about the .abr file type? (there are terrible gaps in my knowledge base!)

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#17 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,355 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 17 April 2012 - 06:53 PM

I may be wrong but I think .ABR is a vector format, Might be more difficult to convert these rastered images to vector.

BTW He is going to include the .penpack 3DC files on his site.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#18 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,180 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:16 AM

And here are the files as .TGA file:

https://skydrive.liv...!128&parid=root


Thanks! I like TGA myself, too. No "compatibility" issues like with PSD.
Free Videos|Video Training & More
Messiah|Modo|3DC+Video Training Bundles
Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/

#19 digman

digman

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,577 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Texas, USA

Posted 18 April 2012 - 07:32 PM

Thanks Phil and johnnycore for taking the time to make these alphas available to us...

#20 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 668 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 July 2012 - 07:37 AM

thanks a lot.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users