Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3D-Coat 3.7 updates thread


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
1786 replies to this topic

#781 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 17 March 2012 - 04:34 PM

Some more tests on older 3.7.01 and the last build.
It seems that the issue existed already under the LWO format already.

Attached Thumbnails

  • moretests3dc.jpg

MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#782 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,593 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 March 2012 - 05:00 PM

Michalis, hopefully this time problem is easy to solve.
Probably you checked option Coarse (sharpen) mesh in export dialog
Posted Image
Just uncheck it. Probably you checked it accidentally.
If you have not cheched it but mesh is coarse - then we will discover it deeper.

This option is elso present in retopo menu.

#783 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 17 March 2012 - 07:36 PM

Oh, indeed this was the problem. :blush:
Thank you.
It seems that the two 3dc installations don't share all the preferences.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#784 BurrMan

BurrMan

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 March 2012 - 10:57 PM

Lol......
  • Javis, fingers and Zeddicus like this

#785 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,370 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 18 March 2012 - 03:04 PM

Hey,

You can go to the first page of this thread to find the most recent updates...it will install over top of your previous install. You can always re-install a previous version if you find it too unstable.


ouch... there is no way to install stable and updates at the same time... and to have 2 versions running ? :huh:

#786 LJB

LJB

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 20 March 2012 - 01:41 AM

Silly little bug, I was screen sharing the other day with client and the old Paintroom refresh bug is back. The one where after baking the paint does not showup on the model but if you switch to the Render room its baked out fine. not only does the baked colour not show up but the brushes dont function. Saving the scene and restarting 3d coat sems to work every time with the scene loading as expected. and things functioning as expected.

Sorry i should say after merging, not baking.
Posted Image
Check out my channel on vimeo Here

#787 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,593 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:01 PM

Updated to 3.7.08 (Win)

- Specularity supported in voxel painting. Warning! You should re-assign default shader with RMB click over shaders panel to get it to work. If you still not able to paint specularity - delete MyDocs/3D-CoatV3/Shaders/Custom/ - but preserve imprtant for you shaders. All shaders was re-written, so older ones will not support specularity.
- 3D-Coat will support import/export of objects that use tiles instead of UV sets - like from Mudbox. Example - how it works - http://www.3d-coat.c...mport_tiles.png
- Fixed several problems in pose tool.
- UI adjustment (even longer menus will fit into screen) - bit.ly/zAIPas
- fixed problem of rectangle/lasso painting without antialoasing in some cases.
- fixed several important bugs that are hard to describe.

#788 stusutcliffe

stusutcliffe

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 356 posts

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:25 PM

Thank you Andrew! ( I find ALL bugs hard to describe!! :wacko: )
  • Zeddicus likes this

#789 3DArtist

3DArtist

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:41 PM

Thanks Andrew.

Looks like the voxel sketch tool rotation bug is back.

Intel Core i7-3770K
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

web: gregcopin.com


#790 haikalle

haikalle

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 20 March 2012 - 08:52 PM

Nice to see Tile update. One thing about texture naming. Now when you export textures from 3d-coat it names textures like this:

Object_default_color.tga
Object_Tile_1_0_color.tga

When it maybe should be:

Object_default_color.tga
Object_default_color_1_0.tga

#791 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,559 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 21 March 2012 - 12:30 AM

Thanks for the update Andrew! I really like the multiple UV tile support, awesome stuff.

haikalle, that would be good. Better still would be some user customizable naming defaults. Perhaps some kind of input in the options panel?

Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#792 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,593 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:54 AM

Thanks Andrew.

Looks like the voxel sketch tool rotation bug is back.

please explain a bit.

#793 3DArtist

3DArtist

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:33 AM

please explain a bit.


Using "rotate around current pick point" and activating sketch tool in the voxel room, when I try to rotate the camera the current pick point (pivot of rotation) is somewhere off the screen which results in unusable navigation. imo the current pick point should be set to the center of the sketch box. I have to switch to "Rotate around world center" for the sketch tool to be usable.
I thought I saw a Mantis bug report on it but I cannot locate it right now.

Intel Core i7-3770K
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

web: gregcopin.com


#794 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,419 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:59 AM

Something has irked me for a long time. The UI isn't saving the way I like it. When I first load 3DC there is a floating VoxTree panel that shouldn't be there and in the Voxel room there are two extra tabs for Model and Spline, while the two thatshould be there are blank. So every time I load 3DC I have to reload my saved workspace from the menu.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#795 space

space

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 21 March 2012 - 03:46 PM

Thanks for the tile update, it's very useful :)

#796 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,593 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 March 2012 - 10:19 PM

Updated to 3.7.08A - Win - due to sketch tool problem
- fixed problem of Sketch tool - incorrect shading (was result of speculatity introduction)
- improved naming of tiles - if material hovers whole tile new UV set will get name of that material and material will not be renamed.


#797 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,559 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 22 March 2012 - 08:17 AM

Hi Andrew!

Thanks for implementing wider support for the various UV tiles, much appreciated! I've been working with it extensively since you released the last build, and it's great, but there are a few niggling things, all centered around how it is implemented.

Basically everything boils down to, instead of importing the UV map exactly as is, it creates multiple UV sets and of course as you know, exports them out correctly by converting the name to their corresponding coordinate on the UV map. It's actually on the slower end when working with it in this form, and it's also difficult to paint on meshes that are in a different coordinate while using the UV texture editor.


So that said, do you think it would be possible to implement full on UV coordinates in the UV texture editor and in the UV editor/UV room? See the attached screenshot for an example. Thanks!

Attached Thumbnails

  • Quad-UV-Coordinates.png

Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#798 juanmanuel

juanmanuel

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puebla Mexico
  • Interests:Cycling, arts, beauty

Posted 22 March 2012 - 05:06 PM

+1
Still hooked to real life

#799 Roger_K

Roger_K

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 22 March 2012 - 11:24 PM

UV tiles :D thank you Andrew, this is a big thing for me!!
That which dosnt kill you can only make it easier for the next guy

i7 Quad 2.5ghz
4GB Ram
Windows 7 x64

#800 manticor

manticor

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 March 2012 - 08:14 AM

Hi Andrew
If you are currently working on emmisive stuff it would be nice to add a post process glow effect to show it off in the render room
Spectrum 48k (rubber keys ) ,kempston joystick , Panasonic tape deck. Alba black and white T.V




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users