Jump to content


Photo

3D-Coat for OSX 64-bit [beta testing]


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
100 replies to this topic

#81 ifxs

ifxs

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 387 posts

Posted 24 July 2011 - 02:22 AM

Posted this over in the regular update thread as well, but figured I'd ask here in case Mac folks are reading this instead of the other thread:

Ever since the first 64-bit beta, I've been having a problem with 3DC. It gets into this state as if the alt key is constantly held down (and yes, I've checked sticky keys, and other prefs that might cause similar effect). It doesn't always happen right away, but once it gets into this state, I can't figure out any way to get it back out again. Clicking with alt held, etc. doesn't fix it. Once in this state, I can't draw, etc. because mouse-dn dragging just rotates the view, and so forth. Has anyone else run across this problem? If so, any workarounds? It seems "new" to 64-bit 3DC, but as I've been messing around with peripherals it could as easily be an incompatibility.



the opposite happened for me. Before the 64-bit build I ALWAYS had a modifier key locked down in 3DC only, and now, with the 64-bit beta, that has been remedied. Sounds like an underlying issue in 3DC. I couldnt even use it before the fix that occurred in the 64-bit builds.

OSX 10.6.8
8x cores XEON
16+gig RAM
OSX / Linux / (and reluctantly sometimes Windows)

#82 ifxs

ifxs

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 387 posts

Posted 31 July 2011 - 08:03 AM

cant wait to test out the new 3.5.23 beta release on OSX, I've been enjoying the 3.5..21 beta 64bit release for a while now, its been great overall, compared to the previous 32bit release.

Thanks Andrew & Sergey & team!
8x cores XEON
16+gig RAM
OSX / Linux / (and reluctantly sometimes Windows)

#83 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 15 August 2011 - 11:35 PM

A first for me. Any attempt to use LC freezes my computer in this new build. One stroke and that's it. Mostly in stamp mode.
God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#84 Psmith

Psmith

    Helper

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,066 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2011 - 07:10 AM

Lorenzo:

Can you please give us your hardware specifications and system version?


Thanks,

Greg Smith

#85 haikalle

haikalle

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,357 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 16 August 2011 - 07:34 AM

A first for me. Any attempt to use LC freezes my computer in this new build. One stroke and that's it. Mostly in stamp mode.


Andrew has fixed stamp mode issue, he did that after releasing 3.5.23C. So it should work in next build. This issue is in Win too.

#86 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:27 AM

Andrew has fixed stamp mode issue, he did that after releasing 3.5.23C. So it should work in next build. This issue is in Win too.


OK, thanks haikalle.
God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#87 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 August 2011 - 08:28 AM

Hi PSmith. I'll have something for you when I get back to my officer tomorrow. Thanks for your response.
Here are my system spec's,
Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

Lorenzo:

Can you please give us your hardware specifications and system version?


Thanks,

Greg Smith


God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#88 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 August 2011 - 05:19 AM

Besides LC Stamp mode, the new build for OSX is awesome. I'm noticing amazing performance improvements all around. You guys are doing great work in record time.

Thanks 3DC crew!

Cheers, Andrew.
God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#89 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,546 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 August 2011 - 09:08 AM

Besides LC Stamp mode, the new build for OSX is awesome. I'm noticing amazing performance improvements all around. You guys are doing great work in record time.

Thanks 3DC crew!

Cheers, Andrew.

The link in this therad was updated just now, so check if you downloaded right version 3.5.23C. I was sure LC stamp should work there.

#90 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 17 August 2011 - 10:53 AM

Reduce tool in live clay works like crazy.
1. the more wide it is the more it reduces (should be the opposite)
2. There should be the opposite (to subdivide) ctrl+drag.
3. Pressing ctrl+z (undo) holes remain.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen shot 2011-08-17 at 11.49.52 AM.jpg

MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#91 pavig

pavig

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne Australia

Posted 17 August 2011 - 10:57 AM

I have had an ongoing problem with display of the Texture UV Editor window. This problem developed a while ago seemingly at random and effects all versions of 3d-coat for mac. The window appears to have the wrong shaders attached and rolls a texture across it like freeze view.

Deleting and reinstalling hasn't helped. Has anyone else had this problem?

More on this thread http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=8504

#92 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 August 2011 - 02:13 AM

The link in this therad was updated just now, so check if you downloaded right version 3.5.23C. I was sure LC stamp should work there.


Updated? OK, i'll download again.
God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#93 LorenzoS

LorenzoS

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 August 2011 - 02:35 AM

The link in this therad was updated just now, so check if you downloaded right version 3.5.23C. I was sure LC stamp should work there.


Yes Andrew, I had the latest build. LC in stamp mode still freezes. One stamp, that's all she wrote.
Any other OSX users experiencing this?
God is my favorite artist. He created the Heavens and the Earth!

Macbook Pro4,1 - 10.6.8 - 2gb Ram - 512mb VRAM

#94 moska

moska

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 18 August 2011 - 03:28 AM

hi
uv unwrap not eficient as before,in this last build!
an arm (cilindrical) needs 2 cuts (in two pieces) instead of just one cut to be OK
please check
happy joy!

#95 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 18 August 2011 - 08:38 AM

@moska
this is happening in the last 2-3 64 bit builds, I'll report it to mantis
@ LorenzoS
I can't reproduce the stamp-LC issue. I missed something?
Though I collected a ton of LC issues so far.
In any case it's in pre-alpha stage so I can't use it for serious work. I can't test it. I even don't understand the need of it.
I do understand a workflow between 3dc and sculptris. An app link is all we need. LOL

So far, the use of LC tool (0 strength) for just adding geometry and reducer tool is all I can do.
3DC devs should have a closer look to sculptris, Andrew especially. The behavior of these few tools matters more than all 3dc tools together.
Remeshing in sculptris is also superior.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#96 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,546 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 August 2011 - 09:10 AM

hi
uv unwrap not eficient as before,in this last build!
an arm (cilindrical) needs 2 cuts (in two pieces) instead of just one cut to be OK
please check
happy joy!

This is really strange - look this
http://bit.ly/oUd6SM

(or I have not understood)

#97 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 18 August 2011 - 09:16 AM

Andrew, I reported it to mantis.
OK, have a look here

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen shot 2011-08-18 at 10.14.16 AM.jpg

MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#98 Bo Atkinson

Bo Atkinson

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine, USA
  • Interests:sculptography/ artgineering/ real life structure builder ~ extreme generalist

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:04 PM

Hello to all 3D_Coat community and thanks Sergyi for bringing us 3D-Coat in 64 bits for OSX.
Works great for me so far, except for one thing (important for me), it seems that the 64 bits version doesn't recognize 3Dconnexion mouse (it worked very well in 32 bits). My graphic tablet, on the other hand, works like a charm.

Should I report it via Mantis ?



I add my hopes for 3Dconnexion.

Just returning after a couple of years and 3Dconnexion was first thing needed....

I'll come back again in hopes of eventually learning this software.

#99 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,300 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 06 September 2011 - 09:40 PM

I'm not sure if this helps, but 3D Connexion did put out a new driver/software that allows you to use a 3D Connexion mouse with just about any application. Maybe that will help folks? I'm not certain, just a thought.


Here is the URL:
http://www.3dconnexi...re/3dxlabs.html

Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#100 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,546 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 September 2011 - 07:22 AM

I add my hopes for 3Dconnexion.

Just returning after a couple of years and 3Dconnexion was first thing needed....

I'll come back again in hopes of eventually learning this software.

Use 3DC from this thread

http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=6634

This thread's link is no longer updated. 3DC 64 bit should correctly support 3D-Coannexion.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users