Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Unity AppLink


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 11 May 2011 - 02:14 PM

############################################################################################
#
# Description: 3D-Coat AppLink for Unity 3D
#
# Version: 1.00 b3
#
# Author: Ilia Zaslavsky <|> Email: vfxdomain@gmail.com <|> Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain
#
# Credits: Realspaik <|> Email: realspaik@gmail.com (Help with Base AppLink & Normal Maps Fix Scripts), Sven Lennartz (Help with AppLink Shader)
#
# Last Update: 00:15 11/05/11
#
############################################################################################

Installation:

Unzip the archive.

Install the AppLink_Vxxx.unitypackage as usual

############################################################################################

Usage (AppLink):

In Unity choose the mesh (GameObject with MeshFilter on it) you want to edit in 3D-Coat,
then run AppLink UI by choosing 3D-Coat AppLink from the AppLink menu. Select 3D-Coat
identifier from the dropdown (PerPixel Painting, MicroVertex Painting, UV Mapping etc.)
and hit "Send to 3D-Coat" button. Choose the name and save your .OBJ in prefered location.

Start 3D-Coat application (or switch to 3D-Coat if it's started earlier), "import object"
dialog will pop up, set your options, hit OK and edit imported mesh to your heart content.
When done, hit File -> Open in original app in 3D-Coat main menu. Now switch back to Unity,
run AppLink and select "Get from 3D-Coat" button to bring edited mesh with textures created
in 3D-Coat back to Unity 3D. You can repeat the whole process as many times as needed.

############################################################################################

Usage (Auto AppLink):

Now you can send meshes to Unity straight from 3D-Coat, by using File -> Export to -> Unity
Unity will be started if needed and mesh will appear in the scene automatically, but you should
choose the root of your Unity project's "Assets" folder as .OBJ save location when doing
File -> Export to -> Unity, otherwise it won't work.

############################################################################################

IMPORTANT!!!

Befoure using Auto AppLink by using File -> Export to -> Unity, you should run "Normal" AppLink
at least once from inside Unity, so it could create needed files for the Auto AppLink functionality.

############################################################################################

IMPORTANT!!!

Unity does not supports 16-bit TIF files, so choose 8-bit PNG/TGA/BMP or 32-bit EXR as
a displacement format. There is no "standard" displacement mapping feature similar to
displacement in 3D packages, AFAIK, so if you're exporting displacement from 3D-Coat
i am applying it as a paralax/height map in Unity.

############################################################################################

IMPORTANT!!!

Unity has the limit of 65K vertices per single mesh, so don't try to export
hi-poly meshes to Unity. Also try to keep 1 UV set per mesh
(or 2 UV sets if you're going to do lightmapping), remember that Unity is a
Game Engine and not usual 3D package, so Hi-Poly meshes with multiple
UV sets and multiple textures per mesh wont work.

############################################################################################

Multiupload link: http://www.multiupload.com/R0OF111B5R

Vimeo Video Demo:

YouTube Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCA43zNbfAc

############################################################################################

Attached Files


Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#2 Tinker

Tinker

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2011 - 03:23 PM

Texturing for Unity does not work quite as you think. Its all around PSD and adjustments layers.
SS-2011-05-11_16.56.13.jpg

#3 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 11 May 2011 - 03:39 PM

Texturing for Unity does not work quite as you think. Its all around PSD and adjustments layers.
SS-2011-05-11_16.56.13.jpg

Well, it's quite outside of the AppLink's scope, it's a simple tool to allow easier interchange of textured meshes between 3D-Coat and Unity. Also while layered PSD may be very cool for creating textures, Unity is a Game Engine and it needs meshes and textures to me as optimized as possible, so PSD with layers is not an option for the runtime anyways.
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#4 Tinker

Tinker

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 May 2011 - 04:15 PM

Unity converts it to DXT5 on the fly after import :)
One of the best features of the engine.

The basic idea of ​​storing textures in PSD - textures evolve following the change in lighting, lightmap settings, shaders, camera position etc..
And immediately after the import from 3d software textures never look good before fine-tuning.

In addition, game objects are usually provided by groups: a several tiles of one wall, or floor.
Configure one of them, you want to apply settings to another. This can be done easily by copying part of the tuning layers of one PSD file to another.
  • Methelina likes this

#5 Tinker

Tinker

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 May 2011 - 10:32 AM

Идеальные 2 способа, как это все могло бы работать:

Или: Полная совместимость с фотошопом (чтобы 3дкоат читал и сохранял маски, слои эффектов вроде уровней итд, как на сркриншоте выше)
Или: при сохранении текстуры в psd при уже существующем файле, изменять только слои, за которые ответственен 3дкоат. Все остальные слои в псд не трогать (тоесть коат не просто пишет psd, а читает его, разбирается что там принадлежит ему, а что чужое, и сохраняет только свои данные).

#6 XRA

XRA

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 16 May 2011 - 06:15 AM

wow cool stuff, thank you, this will hopefully come in handy since I'm a Unity user that is switching to 3D Coat for my 3d needs :)

#7 Roger_K

Roger_K

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 18 May 2011 - 05:22 PM

you the same guy from fxphd?
That which dosnt kill you can only make it easier for the next guy

i7 Quad 2.5ghz
4GB Ram
Windows 7 x64

#8 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 22 May 2011 - 12:50 PM

you the same guy from fxphd?

Yep :)
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#9 marupura

marupura

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:japan

Posted 05 June 2011 - 06:59 PM

Thank you for cool stuff :)
I exported to Webplayer.
I hope you like it.
http://dl.dropbox.co.../WebPlayer.html

#10 pazduha

pazduha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 11 December 2012 - 01:22 PM

I get a unity error when importing to unity:
Material doesn't have a color property '_Color'
UnityEditor.DockArea:OnGUI()
Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

#11 Gian-Reto

Gian-Reto

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 02 May 2013 - 12:12 PM

hi

I recently tested the Applink Shader in Unity 4.1 and got the same error ...Is there a newer version for Unity 4?

thanks for the Information


Gian-Reto

#12 Gian-Reto

Gian-Reto

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts

Posted 03 May 2013 - 09:59 AM

no Edit button.... sorry about the Multipost.

Got the shader to work. Just add the following pragma:
#pragma target 3.0

Seems that Unity else tries to also compile the shader for mobile/flash, which has less registers available (or something, I got that error on import that tells me it needs 10 registers but only 8 are available, with a reference to flash close by)


Hope this helps anyone

Gian-Reto

#13 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,565 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 14 July 2013 - 07:32 PM

Important infos for AppLink users who have problems:
http://3d-coat.com/f...c=10198&p=96605
 
Best wishes
Chris

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users