Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

LightWave Applink


  • Please log in to reply
62 replies to this topic

#1 Keeks

Keeks

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 January 2011 - 09:41 PM

We here at Liberty3D have waited patiently for the LightWave to 3D-Coat Applink to be written, and frankly, we got tired of waiting........

so we wrote one ourselves and we are putting it out for a free beta!!!

Anyone who wants to beta test it out, sign up and follow the development at http://www.liberty3d...c.php?f=3&t=293

It works as a Mac UB plugin PPC/i32/i64 for both LW9.3.1 and up, and LW10.

There is also a Win32 and Win64 version that has been tested on LW9 and LW10.

We will also have more freebie tools and videos available soon through our freebies area on the website.


Thanks!

Keeks

ps. Javis, I did tell you I had one working when you visited...... and you told me that the official one was going to be out in "really soon...."

#2 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 20 January 2011 - 02:11 AM

################################################################################
#
# Description: 3D-Coat AppLink for Newtek LightWave (Layout)
#
# Version: 1.02 for WIN / 1.03 for OS X
#
# Author: Ilia Zaslavsky <|> Email: vfxdomain@gmail.com <|> Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain
#
# Last Update: 22:40 29/11/11
#
# 3D-Coat Home Page: http://www.3d-coat.com
#
# Notes: AutoAppLink functionality added for compatibility with File -> Export to -> LightWave feature in 3D-Coat & OS X compatibility fixed
#
################################################################################

Installation:

Unzip the archive.

Copy 3D-Coat AppLink folder with 3dc_applink_gui_GN.lcs, 3dc_applink_autoimport_GN.lcs and 3dc_applink_autocreate_GN.lsc files inside to some place on your HD, C:\Program Files\NewTek\LightWave10.1\support\plugins\scripts (/Applications/NewTek/LightWave10.1/support/plugins/scripts on Mac) for example, or any other folder you're using for scripts. In LightWave (Layout), hit "Add Plugins" button, browse to the directory where you saved *.lcs files and add them one by one. To add UI buttons, select "Edit Menu Layout" from the "Edit" menu of Layout, find 3D-Coat AppLink, 3D-Coat (Auto-Import) and 3D-Coat (Setup Auto-Import) items on the left side and drag them to the prefered location on the right side. Now you can use this buttons to run AppLink scripts from LightWave Layout UI.

!!!IMPORTANT!!!

"source" folder is included in the archive for those who want to check and/or modify uncompiled ".LS" files, please do so by all means! Any suggestions/improvements from more skilled LScript coders would be gladly accepted!

################################################################################

Usage:

In LightWave Layout choose mesh you want to edit in 3D-Coat, then run AppLink UI by hitting
3D-Coat AppLink button you've created, or by using LScript/RT and selecting 3dc_applink_GN.lcs file.
In AppLink GUI, select "Import from 3D-Coat" or "Export to 3D-Coat" button, set needed options and hit OK. Switch to 3D-Coat,
"import object" will pop up, set your options, hit OK and edit imported mesh to your heart content. When done,
hit File -> Open in original app in 3D-Coat main menu.
Now switch back to LightWave, run AppLink and select 'Import from 3D-Coat' button to
bring edited mesh with textures and maps created in 3D-Coat back to LightWave.
You can repeat the whole process as many times as needed.

################################################################################

Usage (Auto-Import):

Now you can send meshes to LightWave straight from 3D-Coat, by using File -> Export to -> LightWave menu in 3D-Coat.
LightWave will be started if needed, to get geometry and textures you've exported from 3D-Coat
via File -> Export to -> LightWave menu hit 3D-Coat (Auto-Import) button or run 3dc_applink_autoimport_GN.lcs
script if you have not added 3D-Coat (Auto-Import) button to the UI for some reason.

!!!IMPORTANT!!!

To use File -> Export to -> LightWave feature from 3D-Coat, you should create files needed for this feature to work,
you can do this by hitting 3D-Coat (Setup Auto-Import) button or run 3dc_applink_autocreate_GN.lsc
script if you have not added 3D-Coat (Setup Auto-Import) button to the UI for some reason.

################################################################################

!!!IMPORTANT!!!

Uncheck "Enable Disp" if you're replacing mesh with Bump Displacement on it enabled!
If you're not replacing old mesh (Replace Mesh checkbox off) or replacing mesh without Bump Displacement on it,
leave "Enable Disp" checkbox on...

################################################################################

!!!IMPORTANT!!!

Do not uncheck "Get Maps Back" and "Get Mesh Back" checkboxes for now,
they may behave in unexpected way. I will try to fix in to enable selective updates (only mesh, only textures or both)
in the next few days, or i will remove this checkboxes from UI if it is imposible to get them to work correctly...

################################################################################

Multiupload link: http://www.multiupload.com/7GOILM48PG

Vimeo Video:

################################################################################

Attached Files


Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#3 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 18 August 2012 - 02:18 PM

Hey boys and gals, i am taking AppLink for LW 11 development project, starting to work on it tomorrow, will write it using python, check the forum for updates!
  • Javis and Sandro Borg like this
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#4 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 19 August 2012 - 05:39 AM

Great news, I'll be looking forward to it. It owuld be great if you could beat the new goz version before it comes out in 11.5. Supposedly it "just works" with no setup, it knows where zb is. I have no idea how hard that is so this may be wishful thinking.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#5 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,675 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 19 August 2012 - 07:27 AM

Hey boys and gals, i am taking AppLink for LW 11 development project, starting to work on it tomorrow, will write it using python, check the forum for updates!



Thanks Ilia! Looking forward to your new version.

Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#6 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 18 October 2012 - 07:54 AM

I'm curious if there is any update on this. So far I have yet to use anything Python related in LightWave.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#7 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 20 January 2013 - 06:44 PM

Is there any news on this at all?

I've been trying to get the old lscript running... and it's not working as it used to. Had it running fine in Win7, but literally just upgraded to Win 8 and the model doesn't come through into 3DCoat automatically. All the files appear to be generated using the script, but simply 3dcoat isn't opening the object?!?!

(I've edited the script so that it opens the correct .exe for 3dcoat... just in case you thought I may have failed at that hurdle) :D

#8 Styler

Styler

    Neophyte

  • Applink Developer
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 21 January 2013 - 01:19 PM

I'm doing a new version that written totally on Python. I was almost on finish line until I've found that important part of LW python API has empty methods inside (NodeEditor stuff). Without them i can't setup shader connections up properly for visual feedback. I asked Newtek guys on official forum about this issue, but they didn't response me.

For now i have 2 choices:
1) Waiting when 11.5 version will be released. (May be this problem will be fixed).
2) Rewrite applink on C++. In this case i don't have access to MacOS.

I'd prefer 1-st item.

#9 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 03:32 PM

Oh cool... glad to hear there is work being done on it anyway! :)

Have you tried messaging Matt Gorner, or Rob Powers over on the forum? Or opening a bug report for them? They tend to get good responses from the developers and things... I can enquire to find out if any fixes have been done to Python ready for 11.5...

Newtek's Bug reporting system is here:
https://fogbugz.newt...Bug&command=new

Choose 'New Case' and enter the details there! :)


Sorry, Matt Gorner is the UI designer/generalist programmer and his Forum ID is 'Matt'. And I think Rob Power's ID is 'RobPowers3D'

#10 Styler

Styler

    Neophyte

  • Applink Developer
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 January 2013 - 04:34 PM

Good idea, dude, but like regular developer i don't have a LW license =). For bug reporting i need have customer account, as i've got. If you have access, could you figure out: do they are going to improve LWPy in next release?..

#11 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 09:18 PM

I'm certain you don't need an account to post a bug report!! Open that link i gave you above, and just click the 'New Case' link. I don't have a login for that page, I always report bugs by clicking on the 'New Case' link.

So... if you do a report, the development team will respond I'm sure... especially if you tell them you're developing a link app between 3dCoat and LightWave!!! :D

I will enquire regarding python changes in the latest build.... hold tight...

#12 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:13 PM

The 11.5 is going to be out before the end of Jan (most likely the last day, maybe 1st of Feb)... so guess we'll all find out then! My contact has recently installed Windows 8 and lost his account details for his beta downloads... they were linked to his profile, so unfortunately he can't check the python stuff right now... only a week to wait though :D



#13 popwfx

popwfx

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:46 PM

I'm doing a new version that written totally on Python. I was almost on finish line until I've found that important part of LW python API has empty methods inside (NodeEditor stuff). Without them i can't setup shader connections up properly for visual feedback. I asked Newtek guys on official forum about this issue, but they didn't response me.

For now i have 2 choices:
1) Waiting when 11.5 version will be released. (May be this problem will be fixed).
2) Rewrite applink on C++. In this case i don't have access to MacOS.

I'd prefer 1-st item.


Can I ask you how the applink works and what the benefit of it would be? Is it just one-click add to scene - or edit in 3dCoat from within a scene? If I am happy manually importing and exporting lwos from 3DCoat, is convenience to launch 3DC from LW the only thing that is added or are there other features? thanks :)

#14 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:43 PM

Can I ask you how the applink works and what the benefit of it would be? Is it just one-click add to scene - or edit in 3dCoat from within a scene? If I am happy manually importing and exporting lwos from 3DCoat, is convenience to launch 3DC from LW the only thing that is added or are there other features? thanks :)


AppLink is basically a one-click transfer, but it's handy, and takes away the manual updating and stuff. (Currently having major problems in Win8 at home though, due to security policies on my C:\ drive... can't fix it though :( )

Good idea, dude, but like regular developer i don't have a LW license =). For bug reporting i need have customer account, as i've got. If you have access, could you figure out: do they are going to improve LWPy in next release?..


LW 11.5 is available now!! This is copied directly from the new Manual... seems like good news! :D

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In LightWave 11.5 we have full LightWave-oriented Python documentation in the LightWave/sdk
folder and there are more example scripts in the LightWave/support/pugins/scripts/Python folder.
There are also lots of people out there who can teach scripting in general and Python specifically
and it doesn’t have to cost anything. Here are some good sites offering free courses:
http://docs.python.o...rial/index.html - A good place to start. The docs for Python itself.
http://wiki.python.o.../NonProgrammers - A guide to several good
resources for learning Python, including starter guides for people that have never
programmed before.
http://www.diveintopython.net/ - An open source guide for programmers who are new to
Python, but not programming in general. Available in several languages.
http://ocw.mit.edu/c...tion-tocomputer-
science-and-programming-fall-2008/ - MIT’s Introduction to Computer Science and
Programming. Uses Python and teaches computational thinking.
Bob Hood, inventor of LScript, and integrator of Python into LightWave, has made an LScript to
Python converter available at http://www.lucidgears.com:21134/


New Plugin Architectures
In 11.5 we have added the following plugin architectures to the Python integration, along with
example scripts:
• Frame Buffer
• Environment
• Shader Nodes
• Instancer
• Image Loader
• Image Saver


Single-Shot Format
For programmers familiar with LScript, Python can seem verbose by contrast. 11.5 introduces a
more immediate way of using Python for single-shot scripts - scripts that are executed and then
forgotten. Two examples have been created to illustrate the new “single-shot” format for those
plug-in architectures. They are re-formatted versions of the existing example scripts “add_null_
ss.py” in the Generic folder, and “make_test_ss.py” in the CommandSequence (Modeler) folder. Full
documentation can be found in the Python documentation in the LightWave/sdk folder.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Sooooo, there you go! I hope this answers any questions, and I'll keep my fingers crossed for the new AppLink coming soon :D

#15 lardbros

lardbros

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 27 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 05:05 PM

Oh... and found that the LW 11.5 SDK is freely available to download already from the website!

https://www.lightwav.../lightwave_sdk/

There you go if it's needed!

#16 Styler

Styler

    Neophyte

  • Applink Developer
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 February 2013 - 06:14 PM

lardbros, Thanks for assisting =)

#17 Spinland

Spinland

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate NY, USA
  • Interests:Golf, acoustic guitar, craft beer, 3D animation

Posted 24 February 2013 - 01:39 AM

Just downloaded the manual install .lsc files, put them in my plugins folder, fired up Lightwave Layout and added all three buttons to my UI. When I attempt to run any of the three I get multiple errors. Attached are screen shots of what I see when I try to run the setup button, for example. Do I need to do some other manual configuration steps in order to get Applink for LW working on my Mac? I'm running LW 11.5, and Mountain Lion.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Thumbnails

  • Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 6.36.02 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2013-02-23 at 6.36.12 PM.png

“There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter

#18 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,426 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 24 February 2013 - 01:46 AM

I don't think it's working in LW11.x that's why there's discussion about rewriting it above.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#19 popwfx

popwfx

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 February 2013 - 04:39 AM

Just downloaded the manual install .lsc files, put them in my plugins folder, fired up Lightwave Layout and added all three buttons to my UI. When I attempt to run any of the three I get multiple errors. Attached are screen shots of what I see when I try to run the setup button, for example. Do I need to do some other manual configuration steps in order to get Applink for LW working on my Mac? I'm running LW 11.5, and Mountain Lion.

Thanks in advance!


Even though LScripts are platform agnostic, a lot of LScripts end up being in compatible purely because of differences in file paths bewtween mac and pc. Obviously this error is failing for you because the script is attempting to make a temp folder on a mac that is invalid. Perhaps the script is trying to use a C drive or something else in the string it is passing to mkdir (make directory). So it needs an update to work...

#20 Spinland

Spinland

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 22 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Upstate NY, USA
  • Interests:Golf, acoustic guitar, craft beer, 3D animation

Posted 24 February 2013 - 03:35 PM

Thanks for the responses. I found the source code for the plugins and took a look at the offending lines. That doesn't seem to be the problem: LW appears not to like the syntax for the string concatenation the first time, so the string never gets created and mkdir has no valid argument to work with, generating the second error.

I tried a couple of variations but I don't know lscript syntax so I wasn't successful, unfortunately.


“There may be people that have more talent than you, but there’s no excuse for anyone to work harder than you do.” ~ Derek Jeter




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users