Jump to content


Photo

Fusion AppLink


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 09 December 2010 - 09:56 PM

################################################################################
#
# Description: 3D-Coat AppLink functionality for Eyeon Fusion 6
#
# Version: 1.07
#
# Author: Ilia Zaslavsky <|> Email: vfxdomain@gmail.com <|> Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain
#
# Credits: Gwynne Reddick <|> Web: http://www.modonize.com
#
# Last Update: 15:15 15/05/11
#
# 3D-Coat Home Page: http://www.3d-coat.com
#
# Notes: AutoAppLink functionality added for compatibility with File -> Export to -> Fusion feature in 3D-Coat
#
################################################################################

Installation:

Unzip the archive.

Copy 3D-Coat AppLink.py, 3D-Coat AppLink (Auto-Import).py and 3D-Coat AppLink (Create Files for Auto-Import).py files to your Fusion install folder\Scripts\Comp, the path is usually:

C:\Program Files\eyeon\Fusion 6.1\Scripts\Comp
or
C:\Program Files (x86)\eyeon\Fusion 6.1\Scripts\Comp

Restart Fusion.

################################################################################

Usage:

In fusion, make geometry node (usually FBXMesh3D or Shape3D) you want to edit in 3D-Coat
active (selected and active is not the same thing, selected node is blue while active is
yellow, so make sure to make geo node active in fusion
), then run AppLink UI by hitting
Script -> 3dc_applink.py in Fusion menu bar. Select "Import from 3D-Coat" or
"Export to 3D-Coat" checkbox and hit "OK".

If you choose "Export to 3D-Coat", saving dialog should pop, choose location and name of
the output file (without extension, .obj is set automatically), choose "3D-Coat Identifier"
in the next dialog window, then in the last "Options" dialog you can choose to skip
importing and exporting dialogs in 3D-Coat and pre-select some options. This last step
is optional, you can cancel this window and set all needed options inside 3D-Coat.
Also you should know that pre-selecting this options and skipping 3D-Coat import
and/or export dialogs should work only in 3D-Coat version 3.5.06 and up.

After exporting geometry from Fusion via AppLink script, run 3D-Coat
(or bring the focus to it's window if 3D-Coat was started earlier), a dialog
with options based on your "3D-Coat Identifier" selection in AppLink script should pop up.
Set needed options, hit "OK" and edit imported mesh to your heart content, using 3D-Coat's
rich toolbox for Texture Painting, UV Editing etc. When done, select "File" ->
"Open in Originall App"
from 3D-Coat main Menu.

Now go back to Fusion, run AppLink script and select "Import from 3D-Coat" checkbox to
bring edited mesh with textures and maps created in 3D-Coat back to Fusion. A network
of nodes should be created, with color / specular / normals / displacement maps loaders,
2D Texture / Displace 3D / BumpMap nodes for this loaders, assigned to the correct inputs
of the Blinn material, which is connected to the material input of the 3D mesh node.
You can repeat the whole process as many times as needed.

################################################################################

Usage (Auto-Import):

Now you can send meshes to Fusion straight from 3D-Coat, by using File -> Export to -> Fusion menu in 3D-Coat.
Fusion will be started if needed, to get geometry and textures you've exported from 3D-Coat
via File -> Export to -> Fusion menu choose 3D-Coat AppLink (Auto-Import) item in Fusion's scripts menu

!!!---IMPORTANT---!!!

To use File -> Export to -> Fusion feature from 3D-Coat, you should create files needed for this feature to work,
you can do this by choosing 3D-Coat AppLink (Create Files for Auto-Import) item in Fusion's scripts menu

################################################################################

!!!--- Note about Displacement ---!!!

Current version of Fusion does not allows to tessellate imported geometry.
When using Displace 3D, keep in mind that it will only displace existing vertices
and will not tessellate objects. To obtain a more detailed displacement, increase
the Subdivision amount for the geometry that is being displaced (available only for
Shape3D nodes, if you're using geometry imported via FBXMesh3D node make sure to
pre-tessellate it outside of Fusion if needed).

################################################################################

Video Demonstration:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vyWDEoM9UnI

Attached Files


Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#2 musifx

musifx

    Newbie

  • New User
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 December 2010 - 05:57 AM

Nice Work! :)

There is a thread about this over at Pigsfly:
http://www.pigsfly.c...?showtopic=6607

#3 AbnRanger

AbnRanger

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,958 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 December 2010 - 02:37 PM

Wow...never expected to see that. Thanks for the taking the initiative :good: . I'm slowly learning Fusion using the PLE...have been a long time Combustion user.

#4 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 10 December 2010 - 06:40 PM

Thanks for the feedback guys, I'm glad that you like it! :rolleyes: Maybe (maybe!) nuke version soon :p:
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#5 3dCoatWannabe

3dCoatWannabe

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 12 December 2010 - 01:45 AM

Yes, great tutorial. Thanks!

#6 3dCoatWannabe

3dCoatWannabe

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 06:53 AM

Thanks for the feedback guys, i glad that you like it! :rolleyes: Maybe (maybe!) nuke version soon :p:


Your tutorial is actually helping me to learn some aspects of 3D-Coat I wasn't aware of.

I wish there were a 'making of' for the tutorial that went into even more detail for newer users (which might also be useful for getting more Fusion users to purchase 3D-Coat).

Any chance of re-uploading the tutorial at a higher resolution? I can't read the menus and much of the text even on a 1920 x 1200 monitor.

Also, any chance of a zip containing the FBX sign and the materials, etc. used in 3D-Coat to bring it to life? Would be useful to try to duplicate your steps.

Thanks!

#7 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 21 January 2011 - 01:40 PM

Your tutorial is actually helping me to learn some aspects of 3D-Coat I wasn't aware of.

I wish there were a 'making of' for the tutorial that went into even more detail for newer users (which might also be useful for getting more Fusion users to purchase 3D-Coat).

Any chance of re-uploading the tutorial at a higher resolution? I can't read the menus and much of the text even on a 1920 x 1200 monitor.

Also, any chance of a zip containing the FBX sign and the materials, etc. used in 3D-Coat to bring it to life? Would be useful to try to duplicate your steps.

Thanks!


Here you can download better quality 1024*600 version, it's attached to the post:
http://www.vfxtalk.c...ipt-t28896.html

About assets, unfortunately i can't upload FBX and image sequence, it is not mine, those files from one of Digital-Tutors "Maya and Nuke integration" tutorials.
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#8 3dCoatWannabe

3dCoatWannabe

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 21 January 2011 - 06:58 PM

Here you can download better quality 1024*600 version, it's attached to the post:
http://www.vfxtalk.c...ipt-t28896.html

About assets, unfortunately i can't upload FBX and image sequence, it is not mine, those files from one of Digital-Tutors "Maya and Nuke integration" tutorials.


Maybe auto-retopologize the FBX to create a new FBX file? I don't need the image sequence as almost all of the work is on the single FBX sign with the textures you created with CrazyBump.

Thanks for the higher res version, that is much better!!!

Even higher res would be appreciated in future tutorials. VLC http://www.videolan.org can easily re-size to make it fit on a smaller monitor, but can't do much about restoring resolution when stretching it.

#9 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 27 January 2011 - 05:19 PM

I've made installers for my AppLinks, using Andrew's great template provided here:
http://www.3d-coat.c...?showtopic=7352

So here is AppLink for Fusion 6 installer:

Attached Files


Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#10 vfxdomain

vfxdomain

    Neophyte

  • Contributor
  • Pip
  • 79 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tel-Aviv, Israel

Posted 15 May 2011 - 06:22 PM

Update (check the first post): AutoAppLink functionality added for compatibility with File -> Export to -> Fusion feature in 3D-Coat
Ilia Zaslavsky, iOS/OSX (Obj-C, Cocoa, Python) developer & technical 3D/VFX artist

Twitter: @vfxdomain
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/vfxdomain
Web: http://flavors.me/vfxdomain

#11 anonim

anonim

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 April 2012 - 08:38 AM

Please, any experience about working solution between this script and latest Fusion 6.3? I can't make it works, Fusion 6.3 doesn't register this script in Menu's commands.

Excuse me for totaly dumbness about programming, I've just seen that exstension .pyt don't exist between /comp files. I tried idiotic dumb-solution to rename .pyt to .eyeonscript - and yes, now it can be seen in Menu pull down, but, of course, it doesn't works.

So, where I'm wrong, what I have to do to make it working - or this script is solely made for works with 6.1 version of software?

Many thanks in advance.

#12 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,551 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 14 July 2013 - 07:39 PM

Important infos for AppLink users who have problems:
http://3d-coat.com/f...c=10198&p=96605
 
Best wishes
Chris

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users