Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Houdini Applink


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#21 pbowmar

pbowmar

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 10 February 2011 - 07:56 PM

Yes, I need full access of obj-exporting, due to material-exporting and separation reasons too, and embedding some additional information, like slash-enabled sub-object paths.

Ah OK I see cool.

#22 revanimus

revanimus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:11 PM

Great to have this connection! Hope this will be further developed. I noticed a delay, when I am selecting the object to paint in Houdini. However, I am glad to have this plugin now!
"No man ever creates anything. He simply rearranges what's already here." --Hubert Laws

#23 revanimus

revanimus

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 31 March 2011 - 07:33 PM

Just got an error message when reimporting from 3dc:

Error running callback:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
File "opdef:/Object/coat_file_out?PythonModule", line 137, in getback
KeyError: ('',)
"No man ever creates anything. He simply rearranges what's already here." --Hubert Laws

#24 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 746 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 May 2011 - 02:52 AM

Great stuff. Thanks a lot. You've got an attentive and appreciative audience over here..

#25 Nightwalker3d

Nightwalker3d

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 January 2012 - 05:35 PM

Under osx I get this error:


Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
File "opdef:/Object/coat_file_out?PythonModule", line 385, in go
IOError: (13, 'Permission denied', '\\Users\\Cordeiro\\3D-CoatV3\\Exchange\\import.txt')

Any ideia how to fix it ?
Thanks

#26 pbowmar

pbowmar

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 27 June 2012 - 04:07 AM

This Applink only works on Windows because of the '/' being replaced by \\ (as I mentioned in a previous post)

You can easily fix it, edit the OTL, go to the Scripts page and at the very bottom of the code, put a hash (#) in front:

#fpath = fpath.replace('/','\\')

then it works fine :)

Andrew or BooBoo, I'm happy to fix this properly so it works on Windows or Mac/Linux. Works fine in H12 otherwise btw.

Cheers,

Peter B

#27 pbowmar

pbowmar

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 27 June 2012 - 04:12 AM

Actually, sending the textures back to Houdini is also broken... And Ptex is busted, 3dc exports .exr files instead of .ptex

Using 3.7.12 latest on Linux

#28 bollili

bollili

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 August 2012 - 02:47 PM

Hi,

I'm trying out 3dc houdini applink the first time... and got stuck.

The handover from houdini to 3dc works for the geo but not for the textures. I checked the mtl-file via notepad: The two textures aren't generated in their desired location.
So I tried to put the original textures with the correct name into the folder, manually - problem persists, texture doesn't show up.

I tried with ptex paint, perpixel paint and microvertex paint. No luck at all to get the textures in 3dc... :(

Any hint?

Cheers
Marc

System: Win7-64Bit; Houdini 12.0.704; 3DC 3.7.08B(CUDA)(DX64)

#29 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:28 PM

I dont use the applink tool at all, feel more comfortable with importing/exporting manually.. :)

As for PTEX, its really easy to get it to work just create a surface shader node or modify a mantra surface shader node and drop in a Ptexture node and load in a .ptx file and it should be working correctly.

Also works great with displacement maps!
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#30 Fake Pilot

Fake Pilot

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Stockholm, Sweden

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:30 PM

Hello. Is the applink between Houdini / 3D-Coat still not working correctly?
I tried it with the latest version of Houdini 12.1, couldn't get it to work. Hard to find good info too.

#31 subdproxy

subdproxy

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 September 2012 - 04:05 PM

I like the 3D Coat Houdini App Link. It works great if I have nothing moving in my scene. Is there a way to turn off sending Geometry back to Houdini and just send the Texture maps? I noticed it removes all my Dynamic Functions (RBD) when re-importing into Houdini. The pivot seems to move on the object also. I like JohnnyCores idea of manually importing and exporting.

Glen

#32 sanchoflat

sanchoflat

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
  • Interests:NS
    houdini

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:24 PM

Hm, I use H12.1 and have the same problem - when I try to export -
Error running callback:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
File "opdef:/Object/coat_file_out?PythonModule", line 361, in go
AttributeError: 'SopNode' object has no attribute 'worldTransform'

#33 Styler

Styler

    Neophyte

  • Applink Developer
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 January 2013 - 07:48 PM

no sources, no fixes

#34 sanchoflat

sanchoflat

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia
  • Interests:NS
    houdini

Posted 10 January 2013 - 07:05 AM

poorly. I have some question, maybe now you - why houdini dont render NM as well. I try to change my mantra surface, but result is terrible. UV map is good. In 3d coat and maya render was fine, in houdini.....

#35 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,589 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 14 July 2013 - 07:34 PM

Important infos for AppLink users who have problems:
http://3d-coat.com/f...c=10198&p=96605
 
Best wishes
Chris

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#36 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,497 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 08 August 2014 - 05:10 PM

Will be this applink compatible with the new

Houdini Indie ?

 

http://www.sidefx.co...=2853&Itemid=66

 

Side Effects Software, an industry leader in 3D animation and visual effects software, is proud to announce the immediate release of Houdini Indie which makes all of Houdini’s animation and VFX tools available under a limited commercial license to independent animators and game makers who want to use Houdini during the incubation stage of their business.

 

ty


  • ajz3d likes this

#37 TimmyZDesign

TimmyZDesign

    Apprentice

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 711 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
  • Interests:3D Generalist

Posted 08 August 2014 - 10:29 PM

Wow! Houdini Indie! So great! Really only $200? My mind is blown!
Intel Xeon W3570 (4 core @ 3.2GHz) 6 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro FX 3800 (1GB GPU memory, CUDA, OpenGL)
Windows Vista Professional 64-bit
1st display is Wacom Cintiq 21UX (2nd Gen) (1600 x 1200)
2nd display is ASUS VE245H (1920 x 1080)

#38 Aabel

Aabel

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 13 August 2014 - 03:31 AM

3d-Coat should go beyond app-link and integrate the Houdini Engine.



#39 ajz3d

ajz3d

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,054 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland
  • Interests:CG, biking, programming, jogging, blues, rock, sailing, 8/16-bit computers, horror/science-fiction flicks, WW2, history.

Posted 13 August 2014 - 03:27 PM

Fantastic news!

**** COMMODORE 64 BASIC V2 ****
64K RAM SYSTEM 38911 BYTES FREE
READY.

LOAD "DOODLES"
PRESS PLAY ON TAPE
-----
SCRIPTS





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users