Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Garagarape sketchbook


  • Please log in to reply
865 replies to this topic

#21 Javis

Javis

    Pilgway Helper

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,744 posts

  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Oregon Territory
  • Interests:3D, Swimming, Hiking, Motorbiking, Shooting, Archery, Militaria, Green Technology, Sustainability, Ancient History & The Future

Posted 21 October 2010 - 08:21 PM

??!!! Doctor Banner?
Is there a way to control the mesh color when re-opening a file?
I prefer pink if possible.



lol.. Hulk-Horse smash!

Ah man wouldn't that be nice? I put in a feature request for this, no luck so far. It would be great if we could control each retopo layer's color with a simple swatch-looking icon on the retopo layer itself, a few preset and custom colors. I'll send this to Andrew again in hopes to see it implemented.

Vimeo|3DC Training Videos|Portfolio

 

Report any bugs & post feature requests on the 3DC Mantis page: http://3d-coat.com/mantis/


#22 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 22 October 2010 - 02:41 AM

Geothefaust, thanks!
I guess there is more important things;
some may like the "What colour will come out this time?" surprise.
By the way, thank you for all the tutorial videos. It helps a lot.

#23 Greg

Greg

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:3d, drawing, painting, computer programming

Posted 22 October 2010 - 02:44 AM

Very nice work on the horse! Please keep posting progress!
Greg

#24 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 22 October 2010 - 06:56 PM

I've just finished the retopo and tried a quick baking.
The legs are too thick and, I don't know why, there's a hole
in its chin (on only one side though I used the symmetry button).
Will tweak it a bit and start painting soon.

Posted Image

#25 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 23 October 2010 - 05:00 PM

Something went wrong today...

Posted Image

Wanted to bake occlusion in X-normal using a Ptex merged high poly version of the horse, but failed.
Sorry Artman, I didn't make it :( (but thanks to you I found the occlusion bake options)
It seems that X-normal went on a infinity loop when he tried to calculate the map area corresponding
to little holes on the high poly mesh. Those little holes, I don't know where they do come from.
The low mesh I used for "Ptex merged" was clean (vertex merged on the symmetric line, no holes
on the whole structure)... Mystery.

Then I tried to fix the problem of the legs that are too thick by importing the low version into Maya
and scaling down each edge rings; that seem to be the easiest method when it comes to low poly.
Because I'm lazy, I didn't want to modify the voxel sculpt, modify the retopo and re-bake maps.
I never managed to import the new .obj into 3d-coat paint room. I'm asked to smooth it into millions
vertexes, wich is something I don't want to do. Wanted to paint directly on the new low model.

So I went back to the old file in 3d-coat and tried to modify the legs in the sculpt room.
Then the horse turned into a bull!
Poor me. Need some sleep.

#26 artman

artman

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:quebec,canada
  • Interests:Henri Corbin
    Brian Wilson
    Hikaru No Go
    Noah23
    and 3DCoat.

Posted 23 October 2010 - 05:29 PM

About Xnormals:
Try new export Dense quad mesh option from File menu.
I was able to export a 29mil mesh that would cause "out of memory" issue with other exports.
(problem is there is a good chance that the exported hires scale gets wrong and doesnt match the lowpoly anymore :( ...but maybe you will be lucky.)
Anyway,its not long to test.Much quicker than merging to Ptex.


About Bull-effect:
It seems to me you accidentally activated the Warp tool and pressed enter. :)
Its the only tool that can do this effect.There is absolutely no other possibilities.

About painting...
Import to Perpixel painting,no subdivision is required there.
Use a normal map as a guide.

Hope that helps.
Lest limbs be reddened and rent--I spring the trap that is set--As I loose the snare you may glimpse me there--For surely you shall forget
"The Wind In the Willows", Chapter 7 "The Piper at the Gates Of Dawn"

#27 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 23 October 2010 - 06:23 PM

Those little holes, I don't know where they do come from.

Do these holes follow the re-topo wireframe pattern? Or even better a subdivided version of it?
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#28 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 24 October 2010 - 11:05 AM

Artman, Michalis,

Thank you for your help.
I found out where the problem came from.
Two triangles located inside the mesh
on the symmetry line of the low mesh.
I probably built them during the retopo
without noticing the error.

Posted Image

What is surprising is that the high poly made with
"Merge with Ptex" had the same holes on it.
That means that the exported high model is not made
only out of the voxel sculpt, but is an average mesh
calculated between the voxel structure and the low model
used in retopo?

I should have check the low model before crying :)

#29 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 24 October 2010 - 03:44 PM

Little update,

I refined the horse legs
and the whole shape in order to lower the heavy feel.
Now it's painting time.

Tried to tweak the specular channel without success
(imported from a .tga file).

Will try to find a tutorial about it tomorrow.

Posted Image

#30 Greg

Greg

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:3d, drawing, painting, computer programming

Posted 24 October 2010 - 04:32 PM

Sculpt is looking really good. I never could figure out how to change spec. either. Let me know if you do!
Greg

#31 artman

artman

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:quebec,canada
  • Interests:Henri Corbin
    Brian Wilson
    Hikaru No Go
    Noah23
    and 3DCoat.

Posted 24 October 2010 - 05:41 PM

What is surprising is that the high poly made with
"Merge with Ptex" had the same holes on it.
That means that the exported high model is not made
only out of the voxel sculpt, but is an average mesh
calculated between the voxel structure and the low model
used in retopo?

The high poly made with "Merge with Ptex" is your retopo mesh displaced...so if there is hole in lowpoly there will still be in the highpoly. :)

About specularity.
I suspect there is a layer that still has a specular channel filled(probably the "colour"layer).
Right click on all your layers expect the specular one and use "Remove specularity".
Lest limbs be reddened and rent--I spring the trap that is set--As I loose the snare you may glimpse me there--For surely you shall forget
"The Wind In the Willows", Chapter 7 "The Piper at the Gates Of Dawn"

#32 Greg

Greg

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:3d, drawing, painting, computer programming

Posted 24 October 2010 - 10:58 PM

About specularity.
I suspect there is a layer that still has a specular channel filled(probably the "colour"layer).
Right click on all your layers expect the specular one and use "Remove specularity".


Artman, you've come to the rescue so many times, you deserve a cape and costume with an "S" on it! :D
Thanks!

#33 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 25 October 2010 - 12:22 AM

Artman, you've come to the rescue so many times, you deserve a cape and costume with an "S" on it! :D
Thanks!


Yes, That's true. It is really appreciable to have your help.
It would have taken so much time to gather this knowledge on our own.
Thanks "Senpai" :)
I'll check each layer tonight when back home.

#34 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 25 October 2010 - 01:45 PM

Artman,

Ok. I removed the specularity on each channel.
But still I can't lower specularity strength changing opacity
or depth on layer. Well, I guess it is more a paint room than a viewer
and there is still the solution consisting in changing the texture itself.

I damaged my neck while playing rugby. Can't focus on my work for more
than 10 minutes. It is just like torture.

Forgive me for that silly pic:

Posted Image

I'll be back with a painted horse (not green this time)
As soon as possible.

#35 artman

artman

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,112 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:quebec,canada
  • Interests:Henri Corbin
    Brian Wilson
    Hikaru No Go
    Noah23
    and 3DCoat.

Posted 25 October 2010 - 06:27 PM

Dont use opacity from "Layers Tab",to tone down specular layer you must use 2 settings in "Blending tab".
Specularity Contrast And Specular Brightness.
Use negative values.
You must enter them with keyboard, the slider does not go to negative.
For Brightness tweak between 0 and - 150
but for contrast its very violent use tiny tiny increments
between 0 and - 0.5.

...You are playing rugby in japan? :blink:
Good luck with your neck. :)
Lest limbs be reddened and rent--I spring the trap that is set--As I loose the snare you may glimpse me there--For surely you shall forget
"The Wind In the Willows", Chapter 7 "The Piper at the Gates Of Dawn"

#36 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 26 October 2010 - 01:37 PM

Started to paint it a bit.

Artman > Thanks a lot for your advices. It works!
Rugby is a really cool sport. I play with
a team, here in Kawasaki on week-ends.
May be I'm too old for that now.
Lets focus on 3d-coat :)

Posted Image

#37 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 26 October 2010 - 03:16 PM

Little update.
First time painting in 3d-coat.
I'm so happy with it.
Paint on cavity is so handy!

Posted Image
  • welchrs64 likes this

#38 Greg

Greg

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 367 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:3d, drawing, painting, computer programming

Posted 26 October 2010 - 07:26 PM

Looking beautiful. I really like the topology too - nice, simple and clean! Going to add a saddle or anything else, or is this a range horse?

#39 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 27 October 2010 - 12:15 AM

Thanks Greg!
I will try to make it as real as possible,
but may be without accessories.
Though I don't know how to do it in 3dc,
I need to make a background like Michalis did for his statutes.
Also need to improve rigging skills. I'll try to make this horse
more alive by giving it a nice pose (but not using the pose tool).

Then when it will be done, I'd like to try hard surface modeling
or may be a monster like those in DragonAge.

#40 Garagarape

Garagarape

    Journeymen

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,123 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 27 October 2010 - 05:39 PM

Little update.
Still need to work on texture;
I didn't manage to get slightly blue reflects
with the specular. It seems that 3dc considers the texture as a greyscaled one (?!).
Also tried to import Photoshop brushes, and regulate transparency ("P" and "O").
Couldn't load anything exept .obj. Transparency settings did work only four
the top basic brushes.
Anyway, painting in 3dc is quite fun.

Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users