Jump to content


Photo

Venus faun and a fish


  • Please log in to reply
168 replies to this topic

#1 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:00 PM

Its a new project I'm working on. This may help me understand all the problems and learn something. The faun the fish-like and the head of the girl were sculpted in 3dc. The rest of the nude in blender (old box modeling, colored groups etc. It was more simple to set the pose this way. I had to edit auto-topology in blender, so to check ngones etc. The whole composition in zbrush4, rendering too. Now starting details, the faun first. I copied the pose of the nude only.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#2 LJB

LJB

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,240 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:06 PM

Beautiful!!
Posted Image
Check out my channel on vimeo Here

#3 moska

moska

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:12 PM

Hi Man :drinks:
hope to see that sculptures of yours, in the British Museum one day. :D

#4 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 11 September 2010 - 02:29 PM

Thanks LJB, moska, not in the British Museum of course. Maybe in the new Acropolis museum, a more virtual place there :D
Some thought about greek gods. They look more like function of the human existence to me, not real gods I mean. Its easier to do some nice compositions this way. Aphrodite is not a woman, its only a silly and beautiful girl. As for the faun and the fish you can guess. :)
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#5 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,302 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 11 September 2010 - 07:14 PM

Fine work as we have come to expect. Will the faun get his corkscrew? Is Venus a little husky? In this pose, she looks more like a boy. :D

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#6 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 11 September 2010 - 07:36 PM

Thanks Tony Nemo, its a WIP after all, now I'm working on the faun. Have a look here, aphrodite was never a thin girl. Lot of work in front.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#7 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 11 September 2010 - 09:39 PM

This time new auto-retopo worked. I spent half an hour to fix all n-gones and other problems though in blender but I'm impressed. I could retopo this manually in half an hour but its OK. What some people are refusing to understand in this forum is why I need a precise topology for sculpting static models. Well, sculpture is more topology than anatomy, this is my opinion.
A 3k model (all quads) imported in zbrush. I had to export a decimated tri version from voxel room too so to re-project all on the quad mesh. This is the only stable way to have lo poly multi-res exports from 3DC.
Please, a n-gones or tris indicator!
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#8 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 17 September 2010 - 01:59 PM

I'm impressed with the new 3DC build. Here testing it, millions of poly in voxel room for the mac user. At last. Great performance.
A 3DC render here just for fun, a multi pass export.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#9 PalSan

PalSan

    Apprentice

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 656 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Russia,MO Pushkino

Posted 17 September 2010 - 02:16 PM

Very good! Excellent material and light :clapping: Depth of field adds to the realism of the work

#10 bantu

bantu

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Posted 17 September 2010 - 04:20 PM

I'm flattered by the quality of your work! The icing on the cake is the nice marble shading. And hey I get why you do retopo for static moels: who can stand messy edgeflow on a finished piece?! :) But otherwise if it EVER gets animated (we've senn moving sculptures in films already) you're already ahead of the pack with nice edgeflow.

cheers!
animator, character designer

#11 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 18 September 2010 - 05:38 PM

thanks palsan. bantu
Testing the last 3DC build, now I'm really impressed because its the first time that I used autoetopo (OK some fixes but not much), I used 3dc for UVs, I baked normal maps at 2048, I exported the topo mesh at 8k and a high res tri mesh (1M) from retopo room. Combined them in blender (cage technic or reproject or shrinkwrap ) . So here is a multi-res model, seams are invisible now. A 3DC only model. Thanks to Andrew.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#12 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 23 September 2010 - 01:04 AM

Just a thought about this fine library. What I don't understand is that we can't merge them in surface mode too or even in paint-sculpt room directly. Some boolean actions are not possible there but these objects have a fine topology already and could have UVs too. Just to paint and export. Of course I can import them directly to another app (blender in my case).
So lets say, do some conceptual sketch in voxels room, then import them in a more suitable hardface modeler. To retopo all these is not the best. Especially when a whole machine is the merged object.
Lot of possibilities though. I'm in love with the new 3DC. Even I can't practically work in more than 8M resolution (as a mac 32 bit user). But its OK
Here some funny thing as I was demonstrating the new 3DC to a friend last night.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#13 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 27 September 2010 - 05:06 PM

BTW here some rocks for SketchUp. Less than 20k. Modeled with some merging technic, retopo and painting. I found rocks particular difficult because they tend have a smooth lay out, not the best for this case. Auto-retopo didn't help me either for the same reason. But manually wasn't hard at all. Rendered using podium (clone of Kray render for SU)
  • Javis likes this
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#14 Rich_Art

Rich_Art

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 September 2010 - 05:10 PM

That looks very nice. Was it not hard to retopo this?? I can imagine it is. :)

Peace,
Rich_Art. :good:
C4DLounge.eu our Dutch/Belgium Cinema4D Forum.

Don't forget to take a look at my Gallery here

#15 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 27 September 2010 - 06:03 PM

Thanks Rich_art, rocks are not hard at all for retopo, similar to hard faces without the need of precision. Just some denser loops here and there. As not for animation (lol) even some tris are acceptable. The autoretopo didn't help as tending to have a smoother layout. It took 30 min anyway, UV islands editing included.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#16 Rich_Art

Rich_Art

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 September 2010 - 08:29 PM

Ok. Thanks. It came out nice..

Peace,
Rich_Art. :good:
C4DLounge.eu our Dutch/Belgium Cinema4D Forum.

Don't forget to take a look at my Gallery here

#17 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:47 PM

This is a low poly version of one of the rocks. Less than 3K tris. Auto-retopo but I edited it a lot. I used a seamless texture on a voxels material, this was the base to paint more layers on it. Low poly rocks tend to come out smoother than it should, I had to paint a short of details there. These models have to work with apps- renders that don't support normal maps. (Kray renderer). Unfortunately, bumps only. I also baked AO and also cavity for bumps in blender (better control), using a high poly mesh for reference.
  • Javis likes this
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#18 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 02 October 2010 - 12:03 AM

Another rock study. At 6k, retopo and painted.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#19 Rich_Art

Rich_Art

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 178 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 October 2010 - 09:15 AM

some nice rocks. Texture could have been rougher I think.:)

Peace,
Rich_Art. :good:
C4DLounge.eu our Dutch/Belgium Cinema4D Forum.

Don't forget to take a look at my Gallery here

#20 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 02 October 2010 - 11:46 AM

@rich-art: thanks, right, I'll use a different bump map though, here is the 3dc render. These Sketch Up renderers like kray don't support normal_maps. I have to bake some sort of cavity map to use as bump. This trick works. Is there a way to paint or bake a cavity map in 3DC? any ideas? AO map is not for this job.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users