Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Retopo room: Switch between transparent and solid mesh view


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 19 May 2010 - 11:15 AM

Hello.

In the retopo room currently you see the transparent version of your retopo result, what is really good for retopo work. No critiqes here.

But I would like to switch the transparency off, often. I would like to see a "regular view" of my retopo mesh to check the mesh surface.

Important too: To have the possibility to switch the wires off, if needed.

Best wishes
Chris

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#2 Roger_K

Roger_K

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:07 AM

Hello.

In the retopo room currently you see the transparent version of your retopo result, what is really good for retopo work. No critiqes here.

But I would like to switch the transparency off, often. I would like to see a "regular view" of my retopo mesh to check the mesh surface.

Important too: To have the possibility to switch the wires off, if needed.

Best wishes
Chris


Add to this Gouraud Shading and a live subdivision preview, and it would be totally awesome.
That which dosnt kill you can only make it easier for the next guy

i7 Quad 2.5ghz
4GB Ram
Windows 7 x64

#3 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,559 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:08 AM

Add to this Gouraud Shading and a live subdivision preview, and it would be totally awesome.

A subdivision preview would kill the workflow. It is only interesting, after Andrew have implemented a multicore support for the retopo tab - as long as this is not solved, a subdivision preview will need too much cpu time and is currently not practicable.

Why do you need a subdivision preview? Give an example.

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#4 pynion

pynion

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:49 AM

A subdivision preview would kill the workflow. It is only interesting, after Andrew have implemented a multicore support for the retopo tab - as long as this is not solved, a subdivision preview will need too much cpu time and is currently not practicable.

Why do you need a subdivision preview? Give an example.


When you want to have a non subdevided object for say, cinematics. You want the base mesh to be very low polygon and increase the sub-ds as the camera gets closer. you care less about how the base polygon mesh looks but want the sub-ds to look good.
This also applies to hard surface modeling. Have a very low base mesh.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users