Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3.1.24 Render Tab - Per light shadow options


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 3DArtist

3DArtist

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:51 AM

Have an option for each light to use shadows.
And maybe even a color for each shadow.

For a nice global illumination, I might use a single "sun" light with shadows and the rest of the "fill" lights without shadow.
That way the "fill" lights wont be blocked by some objects (such as a ground object)

And please add Save\Load buttons, it sometimes takes a while to set up a nice lighting rig. :D

Intel Core i7-3770K
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

web: gregcopin.com


#2 3DArtist

3DArtist

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 25 July 2012 - 07:33 PM

Bump.

Save\Load lighting setups.
And for a global shadow quality setting. It looks like the shadow changes depending on what layer is selected and its resolution.

Intel Core i7-3770K
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

web: gregcopin.com


#3 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:41 AM

I've been thinking it would be better for Andrew to totally ditch the render room, that it's a waste of his time and effort and instead take the dirt cheap ($120) Octane Render and totally integrate it into 3d Coat and then focus his abilities on other areas that would be more fruitful for him and all his customers. Like upgrading autopo to the degree where it would autopo hard edge scanned objects and give them perfect bevels chamfers and weighted edge loops on a Maya #3 smooth key type polygonal surface, basically a subd surface.

#4 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,202 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 18 August 2012 - 01:35 PM

integrate a renderer*... good idea.

but what happen with shaders ? need to be rewritten ?


* like example, DAZ studio use the 3Delight render engine

#5 3DArtist

3DArtist

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 19 August 2012 - 04:21 PM

I would love to see the render room brought closer to real-time renderers like Marmoset or even Element 3D. It's already possible to get some nice renders out and is quite useful for me.
But integrating a ray tracer (either within 3DC or some type of applink) would be useful as well. Something like Embree maybe so Andrew could still focus on other parts of 3DC.

Intel Core i7-3770K
16GB RAM
GeForce GTX 570 2.5GB
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

web: gregcopin.com


#6 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 August 2012 - 08:28 PM

I would love to see the render room brought closer to real-time renderers like Marmoset or even Element 3D. It's already possible to get some nice renders out and is quite useful for me.
But integrating a ray tracer (either within 3DC or some type of applink) would be useful as well. Something like Embree maybe so Andrew could still focus on other parts of 3DC.


Yep, Embree is pretty nice...

But Octane is the optimal set up for CUDA Open CL real time rendering and it's dirt cheap. $99 Euros..

and it takes all Maxwell and Vray materials and automatically translates them for instant use.

Andrew should probably reach a deal with them, embed it right in 3d Coat, advertise the hell out of it and add another $100 or whatever deal Octane gives him to the price of 3d coat..


http://youtu.be/4huSFvV2g3k

#7 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,202 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 19 August 2012 - 10:37 PM

Samuel Lapere is a graphics developer working at OTOY (which owns LightStage and Octane Render)

He is posting news at SIGGRAPH about BRIGADE DEMO -Real-time path tracing- in his blog
http://raytracey.blogspot.com.ar/

The BRIGADE code is based in TOKAPSPT, an open source real-time CUDA path tracer (Cheap realtime global illumination)
http://code.google.com/p/tokaspt/

Source
http://code.google.c...tate%253Dclosed

!

#8 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 August 2012 - 11:07 PM

Samuel Lapere is a graphics developer working at OTOY (which owns LightStage and Octane Render)

He is posting news at SIGGRAPH about BRIGADE DEMO -Real-time path tracing- in his blog
http://raytracey.blogspot.com.ar/

The BRIGADE code is based in TOKAPSPT, an open source real-time CUDA path tracer (Cheap realtime global illumination)
http://code.google.com/p/tokaspt/

Source
http://code.google.c...tate%253Dclosed

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n0vHdMmp2_c&feature=player_embedded#!



Yep....Brigade is pure awesomeness.. btw your video is grainy not because of the technology...but just because the computer he made it on was a poor quality one. A $4000 computer would render that without all the grainyness ...it'd be photoreal.

why reinvent the wheel? Just install a new one.

http://youtu.be/QF2c1uHiYyY

#9 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 August 2012 - 06:06 AM

Indigo render would also be a very interesting and powerful candidate for a bundled renderer for 3d coat...at 145 Euros...it's dirt cheap and super powerful It too is both open CL and CUDA compliant.





http://www.indigorenderer.com/




#10 carlosan

carlosan

    Expert

  • Custodian
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,202 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina
  • Interests:Texture Paint, Character Design, Sculpture.

Posted 20 August 2012 - 02:28 PM

About Octane Render

There is a request for an AppLink Exporter here
http://3d-coat.com/f...ne&fromsearch=1

#11 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 20 August 2012 - 06:34 PM

About Octane Render

There is a request for an AppLink Exporter here
http://3d-coat.com/f...ne&fromsearch=1


yeah but I was thinking of actually getting rid of the Render Room as is since the renders aren't that good there *in many cases they're actually a lot worse than the regular paint room workspace) and instead selling 3d Coat with Octane embedded right into it, not just with an applink..up the price of 3d coat to accomodate the licensing...

#12 L'Ancien Regime

L'Ancien Regime

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 722 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 August 2012 - 11:22 PM

mistake srry




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users