3DCoat Forums

What is the purpose of Retopology, the BIG why ?

Silentman

Hey all, i hate to ask what maybe a really dumb question, but i'm new to sculpting in 3D and i'm wondering why i would use Retopology, what purpose does it have? is it so i can texture my models, are they not texturable without Retopology, or does it have more to do with Import and Export, anyhow, i am somewhat lost on the matter and would really appreciate an explanation on it's purpose and uses.

Thanks in advance.

• Like 1

Hey all, i hate to ask what maybe a really dumb question, but i'm new to sculpting in 3D and i'm wondering why i would use Retopology, what purpose does it have? is it so i can texture my models, are they not texturable without Retopology, or does it have more to do with Import and Export, anyhow, i am somewhat lost on the matter and would really appreciate an explanation on it's purpose and uses.

There are lots of ways you might use the retopolgy tools, but the main way they are used today is to free you from thinking about polygons until you have to. It used to be that if you wanted to create a model, you would have to start in something like Maya, LightWave, etc, and build everything up polygon by polygon, until you had a workable mesh. Then you would paint it, so it looked "real" and render it in an animation app.

The problem was that to be a good polygon artist, you need to be part scientist -- which ran counter to the way a lot of artists think. Applications such as zBrush and Mudbox allowed artists to get involved in the creation process, because it was more like working with clay and traditional artist mediums, but the problem was the result was millions of polygons that would choke any animation program.