3DCoat Forums

duplicate mesh and set origin in 3d coat / export problems

Gian-Reto

• Advanced Member

Hi

I'm going mad here with my problem, so I hope one of you guys can help me:

I modeled a car in voxels and created a retopo mesh of it. As I wanted to keep the wheels as separate objects, that share a single UV Texture, I only modeled one wheel.

the plan was to export the model to blender, fix the origin points, duplicate the wheel, and re-import to 3d coat to paint.

Well, that plan sounded good until I found out that Blender hates 3d coat with passion (or I'm doing something terribly wrong):

- I exported my model as obj, only the normals selected in the export dialog, and nothing else!

- When I open in blender, I can't see my normal map in the 3d viewport, only when rendering (could be normal, I'm not a blender expert), and the shading is set to flat for all objects (I assume the shading is set to a default).

- I set shading to smooth, re-export it as obj (or dae, makes no difference), and open in 3D Coat again. The normal map is lost, I have to import it again. Now it looks okayish, but has weird shading errors all over the model (see attached image)

I had this problem before when exporting to Blender, thats why I tried to stay away from it. but now it seems there is no way around it! I even tried wings3d in my desparation, just to get the same problem there too...

Now, the area where the problem appears is not 100% flat (hard to achieve with a manual retopo), though it looks that way after the retopo in 3D Coat, with the normal map applied. Its only after exporting to obj (or dae), opening in blender / wings3D, applying smooth shading (or doing nothing in Wings3D), re-exporting to obj (or dae), and importing to 3D Coat again for pixel painting and importing the normal map again, that the problem appears.

So here are my questions: