Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3D-Coat 3.0 ALPHA


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4486 replies to this topic

#141 mAXWELL

mAXWELL

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:54 PM

Thanks for your effort!

#142 Bancho

Bancho

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 12 September 2008 - 05:55 PM

This tool is amazing!
It base object imported form ZB.
004.png

3.10.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.n.../c/3d-coat.html

#143 Juan Carlos Montes

Juan Carlos Montes

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 12 September 2008 - 06:05 PM

This tool is amazing!
It base object imported form ZB.
004.png

3.10.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.ne.jp/~output/c/3d-coat.html


WOW Man am Diying yo Know how do you did the details of the Fish
Nice work

#144 stevecullum

stevecullum

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 06:36 PM

WOW Man am Diying yo Know how do you did the details of the Fish


Yeah that's one nice fish! - How did you do that - we must have over looked something!?

#145 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 12 September 2008 - 07:02 PM

If i understand correctly, this is how sculpting acts in 2.10. It does make sculpting more difficult.


By last alpha i meant 3.0 alpha 05, not 2.10. The "Draw with pen" tool was working in alpha 05 but in alpha 06 you create spikes(while that's useful in some cases). Most of the time you want a level stroke. I'm sure Andrew knows about this bug.


This tool is amazing!
It base object imported form ZB.
004.png

3.10.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
<a href="http://www.k2.dion.ne.jp/~output/c/3d-coat.html" target="_blank">http://www.k2.dion.ne.jp/~output/c/3d-coat.html</a>



Amazing work! this should give Andrew some fuel to keep pushing 3DC programming :) How did you make the scales? Ano anatawa nihonjin desuka?
Freelance Character Artist

#146 stevecullum

stevecullum

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 07:34 PM

The pinch act on the triagulated gometry created from the voxels, and pinch it.
When you return in voxels mode, the surface looks smoother, because of the voxel resolution limit.


Agree with the other here that having the pinch tool seems pretty pointless unless the resolution can handle it. Noting the comment Andrew made regarding jumping back and forth between mesh resolution (like you can in Mud Box), I think its important to have this ability, so I hope Andrew can find a way to implement this.

#147 Christoph

Christoph

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 08:26 PM

Now I only know how to increase subdivision level. It is easy and I will make it soon. Decreasing is not so obvious...


Thanks Andrew for the answer. Increase and decrease subdivision levels is an essential feature. I`m glad that you will make the increasing subdivision part soon. I`m hoping you will release the decreasing subdivision section soon as well.

About move - it is in process.


Great. Waiting for that one. ;)

Thanks again.

#148 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,411 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 12 September 2008 - 08:47 PM

I may be wrong, but the way I understood voxel modeling there's no need to step down the resolution. You're always working at full res. Even when tweaking large areas.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#149 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:36 PM

I may be wrong, but the way I understood voxel modeling there's no need to step down the resolution. You're always working at full res. Even when tweaking large areas.


Well its abit tough trying to define what is voxel sculpting. Pure voxel sculpt rely solely on voxel(cubes), but Andrew implementation generates a surface(triangle mesh) on top of the voxel(like the Terrain editing tools in Crysis Sandbox editor).

If stepping up resolution means small triangle, which in turn means i can add wrinkle, pores detail to my mesh..then i'm all for it :) . Obviously the voxel have to be smaller than the triangles..so else it won't work.

To be honest, i do no care what method Andrew uses to get smaller triangles, as long as it add/implemented.
Freelance Character Artist

#150 el_diablo

el_diablo

    Newbie

  • New User
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 09:45 PM

Andrew will prolly do additive detail on the limit surface if possible rather than make voxels higher resolution. It adds up pretty quickly, even with sparse representation. There are prolly some multiresolution voxels papers/algos out there that may be adapted to the purpose and lower the voxel size limit tho.

#151 Christoph

Christoph

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 29 posts

Posted 12 September 2008 - 10:26 PM

I don`t know the programing tech behind voxel/sculpting.

But if jumping back and forth subdivisions levels help with the interaction, faster and real time in the lowest subdivision with big size brushes, the move tool, smooth, and with fast real time interaction in the highest subdivision with small size brushes, just like in poly/sculpting, then definitively please add this feature...

Thanks

#152 Bancho

Bancho

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 13 September 2008 - 03:30 AM

Thank you for the reply.
Those scales made in ZB.
002.jpg

But, we are able to make scales in 3DC.
(It's not easy like the ZB.)
003.jpg

Amazing work! this should give Andrew some fuel to keep pushing 3DC programming :) How did you make the scales? Ano anatawa nihonjin desuka?

Wao! You can speak japanese!
Yes, I am a japanese.
3.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.n.../c/3d-coat.html

#153 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,411 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:00 AM

Wao! You can speak japanese!
Yes, I am a japanese.


Hehe, just like 2 seconds ago I was sending my mom pictures of the deer in Nara Park.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#154 Bancho

Bancho

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 56 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tokyo

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:09 AM

Hehe, just like 2 seconds ago I was sending my mom pictures of the deer in Nara Park.

Where are you now!!? :blink:

3.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.n.../c/3d-coat.html

#155 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 13 September 2008 - 04:38 AM

Thank you for the reply.
Those scales made in ZB.
002.jpg

But, we are able to make scales in 3DC.
(It's not easy like the ZB.)
003.jpg


Wao! You can speak japanese!
Yes, I am a japanese.
3.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.ne.jp/~output/c/3d-coat.html


haha, your eigo is better than nihongo. thanks for sharing the tip. Just curious how many polygons was the Zbrush model? And when you merge the mesh, did you subdivide it first? I ask because it looks very detail compare to what i see other people produce with 3.0 alpha so far.
Freelance Character Artist

#156 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,411 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 13 September 2008 - 05:26 AM

Where are you now!!? :blink:


Right now near Philadelphia, PA. Never been to Japan, the pics in question were ones I found on Flickr. I've just always had an interest in Japan. I only understand a little of the language, but I almost had a job at a game studio in Kyoto a few years ago.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#157 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 September 2008 - 06:23 AM

This tool is amazing!
It base object imported form ZB.
004.png

3.10.00ALPHA-06(DX)
WinXP Pro sp2 32bit
Dual-Xeon3G HT
3G Ram
RadeonX1950

-------------------------
http://www.k2.dion.ne.jp/~output/c/3d-coat.html

Wow! Wow! Really cool work.

Now I am not at home (short trip), so I am working only couple of huors per day (yesterday and today), tomorrow I will get back and work will go faster. Now I am improving core of surfacial transforming, it takes some time.

#158 Crusoe

Crusoe

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 65 posts

Posted 13 September 2008 - 06:29 AM

It's a little laggy on my notebook's card, but man it is fun. Is there any way to make the model lower res?

Also, the lag will probably improve as you tighten up performance.

#159 TOXE

TOXE

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 184 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Italy

Posted 13 September 2008 - 10:17 AM

This new tool looks awesome! When we can have also a mac beta?

Congratulations Andrew for your amazing work

-TOXE

#160 Bo Atkinson

Bo Atkinson

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Maine, USA
  • Interests:sculptography/ artgineering/ real life structure builder ~ extreme generalist

Posted 13 September 2008 - 11:14 AM

Now I only know how to increase subdivision level. It is easy and I will make it soon. Decreasing is not so obvious...
About move - it is in process.



Ah, "decreasing subdivision" that is a key interest for me as i think it is key to structural efficiency (and i bet also key to making efficient models).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users