Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3D-Coat 3.0 ALPHA


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4486 replies to this topic

#101 tree321

tree321

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina USA

Posted 09 September 2008 - 12:44 AM

the smoothing seems to be too strong with the Carve tool, there should be a way to control how strong or weak(maybe with the smoothing slider?)



You can, Son k.If u turn smooth slider all the way up it acts like flatten brush.

#102 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 09 September 2008 - 12:56 AM

Mouse clicking going through windows is a long standing bug, pretty much as long as I've been using 3DC I think. However with 2D-Paint it's a particularly big problem since you don't even need a mesh underneath of the window.

the smoothing seems to be too strong with the Carve tool, there should be a way to control how strong or weak(maybe with the smoothing slider?)


Too strong? It seems perfect to me. There is a way to control it, don't press as hard on the tablet.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#103 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 09 September 2008 - 01:12 AM

the smoothing seems to be too strong with the Carve tool, there should be a way to control how strong or weak(maybe with the smoothing slider?)



You can, Son k.If u turn smooth slider all the way up it acts like flatten brush.


i stand corrected , thanks! :lol: I'm using a mouse BTW.
Freelance Character Artist

#104 Juan Carlos Montes

Juan Carlos Montes

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:01 AM

weird cursor behavior with the tablet
when you select this two pen tip
tips.jpg

I did a video capture
http://screencast.com/t/E82JV011

#105 bwtr

bwtr

    Honored Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2008 - 06:48 AM

Probably a "Brian" day but I do not seem to be able to find/access the "Universal Handlers" of Andrews post 91?

Brian

#106 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 09 September 2008 - 07:22 AM

When you import a mesh using Merge You'll see a button that says MRG_TRANSFOR, obviously a temporary name, but after the mesh is loaded that button is automatically activated and you can see the universal manipulator on the imported mesh. Unfortunately once you hit Enter and move on to another tool the UM goes away.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#107 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2008 - 07:51 AM

Unfortunately once you hit Enter and move on to another tool the UM goes away.

Strange, after ENTER it stays on my OC...

#108 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 09 September 2008 - 08:13 AM

Well it stays just after hitting Enter. But after moving to another tool, like Carve it goes away. My point in "it goes away" is that you can't get it back.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#109 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2008 - 10:53 AM

Well it stays just after hitting Enter. But after moving to another tool, like Carve it goes away. My point in "it goes away" is that you can't get it back.

Still can't reproduce.. When I am back from carve to Merge handlers return...

#110 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:25 PM

Oh OK they do return but if you use them it moves a new object (last one loaded), not the one you are working on.

Edit: Here's a bug. The Draw With Pen tool is not drawing smothly, it skips along instead of making one smooth line. Also causes tears in the geometry in some cases. See video:
http://screencast.com/t/mY2VYOrA
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#111 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2008 - 03:56 PM

Oh OK they do return but if you use them it moves a new object (last one loaded), not the one you are working on.

It is how it should work. There will be special mode (now working on) where you will be able to twist/move/rotate/transpose surface in any way.
Now I am working on combining surface/volumetric approaches. Some tool are good in surface approach - like pinch, grow, transpose, ...
some - work good in voxel mode like booleans, carve, curves, cut, ...
The system will transform object from one approach to other to get most wide set of tools.

#112 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:08 PM

That sounds great, exactly what I was saying would be a good idea.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#113 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:10 PM

Edit: Here's a bug. The Draw With Pen tool is not drawing smothly, it skips along instead of making one smooth line. Also causes tears in the geometry in some cases. See video:
http://screencast.com/t/mY2VYOrA

This tool will be removed and repleced by much better one.

#114 tree321

tree321

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 450 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina USA

Posted 09 September 2008 - 04:56 PM

Edit: Here's a bug. The Draw With Pen tool is not drawing smoothly, it skips along instead of making one smooth line. Also causes tears in the geometry in some cases. See video:
http://screencast.com/t/mY2VYOrA
[/quote]


Happens when using a small brush for me.

#115 PoopaScoop

PoopaScoop

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 10 September 2008 - 03:54 AM

Volumetric is it really for CUDA performance card holders? The Carve & Smooth operations seem to slow to be userable, on my non-CUDA card.

Feels like it's got slower since I last updated? Or is that just me... Is the mesh denser?

Is there really no way to manually alter the volumetric resolution in real time? I'd really like to work with smooth brushes on a lower resolution.

#116 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,408 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 10 September 2008 - 05:20 AM

Volumetric is it really for CUDA performance card holders? The Carve & Smooth operations seem to slow to be userable, on my non-CUDA card.

Feels like it's got slower since I last updated? Or is that just me... Is the mesh denser?

Is there really no way to manually alter the volumetric resolution in real time? I'd really like to work with smooth brushes on a lower resolution.


I'm pretty sure CUDA is not yet implemented. I don't see any difference in the mesh density. What I have noticed that might help you is that when you import a mesh to work on you can scale it. If I scale it up too high it get's very sluggish, if it's too small the sculpting looks "chunky". So it's best to find a balance between the two. Also using a brush size that's too big can slow it down.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#117 Deadman21

Deadman21

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Location:North Carolina

Posted 10 September 2008 - 03:48 PM

I have been playing with the new 3.0 beta through boot camp on my Mac and it great. My question is will 3.0 make it to the mac.

#118 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 10 September 2008 - 04:47 PM

I have been playing with the new 3.0 beta through boot camp on my Mac and it great. My question is will 3.0 make it to the mac.



Yes
Freelance Character Artist

#119 geo_n

geo_n

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan

Posted 10 September 2008 - 06:08 PM

posted in the volumetric topic I thought i posted it here.
Anyway regarding 3.0
- 4 viewport config. Will that be possible in 3.0? Also some more accurate tools would be nice something similar to silo poly modelling. I think sculpting industrial design stuff would be cool to do in 3dc.

#120 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,587 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 September 2008 - 06:24 PM

I have updated the link (ALPHA-05). Actually this is result of one day work because today's work is essentially not finished. I worked over essential improving of transistion speed voxels<->surface but not finished.
Changes of current alpha:

1) Possibility to cut surface like a butter with rectangle/ellipse/curve as it shown below:
Posted Image
2) First results of surface approach - draw with pen and pinch tools. It is very easy to add full set thete - it will be done soon. But transition surface<->voxels is slighty long.
3) Many bugfixes, better look of red sphere.

About mac - all what is made is absolutely cross-platform, so there is no problem to compile on mac - only bureocracy - send sources to mac guy, put on server...
Maybe I will compile mac version soon also.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users