3DCoat Forums

Baking from one mesh to another. Normals are blank.

shotgunefx

Hi All,

I'm new to 3D coat and still trying to learn my way around. I have a high resolution mesh which I sculpted previously in Sculptris and I already have a low poly retopology that I wish to bake to (after painting).

So I imported the mesh, and it's in Surface mode. Under Retopo, I import the low res mesh. After painting the hi-res, if I bake, the textures work fine, displacement, etc, but my normal map is just entirely gray.

Does the mesh need to be voxelized before baking?

Thanks!

• Reputable Contributor

Hi All,

I'm new to 3D coat and still trying to learn my way around. I have a high resolution mesh which I sculpted previously in Sculptris and I already have a low poly retopology that I wish to bake to (after painting).

So I imported the mesh, and it's in Surface mode. Under Retopo, I import the low res mesh. After painting the hi-res, if I bake, the textures work fine, displacement, etc, but my normal map is just entirely gray.

Does the mesh need to be voxelized before baking?

Thanks!

Surface mode is fine. Did you merge the model into the Paint Room? Any chance you can screen record the problem so we can see what step is missing or if it's a bug? Jing is a free screen recorder and you can upload the recording to their screencast.com website (free). It's really good for this kind of purpose.

Sounds like you may be in Microvertex mode, which works with Displacment maps. Per Pixel Painting works with Normal Maps.

• Reputable Contributor

I will be talking about the baking tool since shotgunefx mentioned the word baked but I'm not sure if he meant the texture baking tool. Shotgunefx, after merging to the paint room there is no need to use the baking tool either in the paint room or the retopo room.

Ah, yes, I reread your post. I think you are saying you poly-painted (vetex painting) the surface mode model and then used the texture baking tool in the retopo room.