3DCoat Forums

Leigh's Sketchbook

LJB

• Contributor

Hi, Just updated 3D coat and I'm Experimenting with the new Voxel sculpting. I'm primarily a Z-Brush artist but I have to admit I'm in love with the Voxel technology here it feels sooo natural.

Voxel_Skull_Front.jpg

Voxel_Skull34.jpg

Voxel_Skull_Side.jpg

It it just so cool to be able to nibble away and carve out/separate pieces of your sculpt. Having a few issues with fine details but I'm sure i will develop techniques, think my main problem was i was using the surface brushes to apply fine detail at voxel stage and it was artifacting mesh heavily. using the Clay pen with a low depth and a smooth stroke with an increased voxel volume seems to work just fine now. Please give tips on finer details.

Thanks.

post-1266-1245690507_thumb.jpg

post-1266-1245690622_thumb.jpg

• Like 2

• Contributor
Hi, Just updated 3D coat and I'm Experimenting with the new Voxel sculpting. I'm primarily a Z-Brush artist but I have to admit I'm in love with the Voxel technology here it feels sooo natural.

Voxel_Skull_Front.jpg

Voxel_Skull34.jpg

Voxel_Skull_Side.jpg

It it just so cool to be able to nibble away and carve out/separate pieces of your sculpt. Having a few issues with fine details but I'm sure i will develop techniques, think my main problem was i was using the surface brushes to apply fine detail at voxel stage and it was artifacting mesh heavily. using the Clay pen with a low depth and a smooth stroke with an increased voxel volume seems to work just fine now. Please give tips on finer details.

Thanks.

Superb model! :clapping: I think fine details require very high resolution in voxels. If you quadrangulate the skull, you could do the finest texturing in Per Pixel paint.

Very impressive experiments, LJB! The precision of the carving and subtle indentations around the jawline look great. Even better than a medical imaging scan.