3DCoat Forums

How do I import a model and its "voxel painted" textures and materials from 3dcoat to blender?

3dnerd

First of all hi everybody, I am totally new here, and new to the 3d world in general.

I've made a sculpt in 3d coat and painted over it's voxels.

I exported the model as obj and imported it to blender, now I have no idea how to transfer to blender the materials and textures I painted into the "paint room" of 3d coat over my voxel sculpt.

In 3d coat I painted just over the voxel sculpt. Is that a "ptex" texture? Is it possible to export it into some file format? Sorry for my noob questions, I am totally new to this world, and sorry for my english I am not mother tongue. Cheers, and thank you in advance.

• Reputable Contributor

When you do Vertex Painting > Export, you are exporting a very dense mesh, which stores all the color and specular information within the vertices....rather than on a texture map. So, in Blender, you would need to apply a Vertex Color Map into the Diffuse channel of whatever shader/material you are using.

When you do Vertex Painting > Export, you are exporting a very dense mesh, which stores all the color and specular information within the vertices....rather than on a texture map. So, in Blender, you would need to apply a Vertex Color Map into the Diffuse channel of whatever shader/material you are using.

I discovered problems importing models with sub layers into blender, they don't show at all.

Do zbrush support vertex painting import? I haven't find anything about that.

• Reputable Contributor

You don't import sub layers into Blender. OBJ files just import/export all the meshes/objects in the scene, unless you choose to "export selected." I would export .ply or .fbx as they allow higher bit depth than OBJ files.

• Reputable Contributor