3DCoat Forums

Lock/Isolate object for painting ?

tibosenpai

Go to solution Solved by digman,

Hi ! I'm new on this forum and on this software ! I'm a french animation student in India, and am looking forward to using 3d coat for texturing !

I'm having a problem, and I can't seem to get the answer anywhere on the web ..

I exported a selection set from Maya in .OBJ (it's a van, so I selected the wheels, bodywork, headlights etc.. and exported selection in OBJ)

It opens well in 3d coat but how can I isolate objects so that when I paint for example the van's bodywork, I don't accidentally paint the bumpers or anything ! There must be a way to lock the objects, so I can only paint on ONE object while the others remain intact around it ?

I see that "hide" option but the list it gives me doesn't even include all my objects, and I need an overview of all objects when I work... Same thing for the freeze option.

Can you help me ? Thanks in advance

• Contributor

When importing an object or in your case several together, the Import dialogue has a selection for "Import to Separate Instances" which well get each item a separate volume. You can also "Cut and Clone" your way to move objects to another volume.

Hi, welcome. :)

It sounds like you might be able to see all of the parts of your van separately from the Paint Objects panel. You can view that list from the menu Windows>Paint Objects. This is assuming that your van mesh is made from multiple mesh containers. I'm not sure if it would notice the selection sets, as I don't know if the OBJ format saves those.

Another way, is if you set materials in Maya, is to use the Surface Materials panel, you can lock and hide these as well. It's found under Windows>Surface Materials.

• Reputable Contributor

Also you can add to your arsenal Connective Picking of getting what you requested. Connective Picking is shown in the picture top menu.