3DCoat Forums

Standalone renderers

arumiat

• Advanced Member

Hi all,

I have some experience with Blender Cycles but have been sneakily peeking at other standalone renderers recently. I just haven't been able to get 'into it' as a render engine. I think a big part of it is how long you have to play with nodes to get a relatively noisy picture, and the absence of a material library of any sort.

The majority of my work is generated for Unity based content, but it would be nice to start getting some decent still renders of the work too. I will also be rendering mainly things like muscle, skin, eyes and so forth

1. Are there any render packages that people find do and don't work well with 3Dcoat exports?

2. Of course this is CG and nothing is ever 'quick', but it would be nice to use a package that lets you experiment with end-results as soon as possible. I.e. it perhaps has a nice material library good-to-go for instance.

3. is the upcoming PBR with v4.5 going to be a good alternative?

4. if vertex painting in 3Dcoat, is it possible for external render packages to render this?

Anyway, please feel free to give me any and all of your thoughts on what you enjoy using.

Edited by arumiat

• Advanced Member

personally don't use it, since i like to make my own materials, and i use c4d for final output, but from what you described it looks like keyshot is what you need.

Edited by Aleksey
  • Like 2

• Advanced Member

personally don't use it, since i like to make my own materials, and i use c4d for final output, but from what you described it looks like keyshot is what you need.

Agreed, Keyshot sounds like exactly what you're looking for.  Expensive though.

• Like 1

• Reputable Contributor

Do not count Blender Cycles out just yet...  Of course with Keyshot, you get what you pay for at 995 dollars for the HD version. You a great renderer with pre-loaded materials and Studio Scene Set Ups.

Now Blender:

You can download some studio setups at Blendswap.