3DCoat Forums

Rachel from YouTube

philnolan3d

I don't know how else to name this thread.  :rofl:   I had the idea to do a photo-real model of a red headed girl but I couldn't find good reference. Then I remembered Rachel from her My Husband Is Japanese YouTube channel.  She was kind enough to shoot and send me reference pics of herself! Front, side, and 3/4.  I couldn't believe how nice that was.  Anyway here's an early WIP,  I just started yesterday.

post-466-0-42682500-1395692259_thumb.jpg

Here're the photos she sent me (shrunken for the forum)

post-466-0-04146300-1395701049_thumb.jpg

I went further with it and threw some hair on just for the render.  Rachel is super excited by it so now I have to do a good job.  Unless anyone has any major suggestions I'll be starting to add finer details like lip wrinkles and cracks before moving on to retopo.

• Like 1

Thanks. I'm no expert at it but what really helps is having these 3 reference images. I asked her to shoot them with no makeup, hair pulled back, and a neutral facial expression. One problem I had when I tried to do Bruce Willis was finding pictures of him from these angles where he wasn't smiling or talking. I think the middle 3/4 photo is critcal as it helps to keep the head from looking boxy with like a hard corner going down the sides of the face.  I really tried to look at it from all angles, focusing on the sillhouette and trying to make sure it matched the photos as best I could. Other than that studying some anatomy helps fill it some of the parts that you can't see in the photo due to lighting, hair, etc.

• Advanced Member

Hi Phil,

Looks awesome, the only things I can see to make suggestions on are the curves under the eye:

- The bottom eyelid going up into the outside corner of her eye is a little steeper in the photo than it is in your sculpt