3DCoat Forums

Poser to 3D-Coat

Space76Ghost

Hi,

I'm a DAZ/Poser Artist from Long Island, NY! I am decent at both DAZ & Poser. I want to start learning how to make my own content, clothing, hair and accessories. I like the user friendly flow 3D-Coat has which is why I thought I would give it a try.

I know to import Poser models you export them as a Wave Object but if I were to want to add clothing to my character ( base mesh ) I'd like to know what 3D-Coat users would suggest?

Does anyone know how I could export my Poser model with its texture to 3D-Coat? It only imports them as one solid base mesh.

Thanks! I look forward to your suggestions!

Ghost

• Advanced Member
 I want to start learning how to make my own content, clothing, 

Here the workaround if you want make cloth from scratch

Import the Daz Figure as Base in voxelmode

with vox layer tool create a new surface or voxellayer

sculpt a  cloth 

retopo the cloth 

UV mapping  the cloth mesh

paint and backing texture maps 

export the cloth mesh with textutes  as obj.

rigging the cloth in Poser or DAZ  

• 1 month later...

Hi there,

I'm from Germany and an absolute newbie in 3d-sculpting. So far, I was only engaged with Poser, however, I am more and more impressed about what you can do with 3DC and I really want to learn it. I watched lots of tutorials but all together I guess that my workflow is somewhat wrong.

What I want to do: Create a modified obj-model for re-import into Poser, based on the famous DAZ Genesis figure.

What I already did:

1. Export Genesis Female model as an obj

2. Import the obj into the voxel room

3. Modify it by using the tools provided in the voxel room

4. Only for cross check: export obj out of the voxel room and import into Poser. Awesome result, every small detail is visible, perfect !!

But regarding the following steps I guess my understanding is not correct: