3DCoat Forums

Parel Hard Surface Sculpts

parel

• Advanced Member

I am still trying to get a hold of the tools. I am an industrial designer so am probably not the core customer. However 3Dcoat is by far the best sculpting app for hard surfaces I have tried (I have not tried Claytools though). Carving into your sculpt to create a through hole is impossible with Zbrush and Autobox. I look forward to your advice going further. I will post more works in progress in the future, so that you can crit my technique. These goggle tests started with some extruded curves. I really wish that some of the curve creation tools in Ilovesketch were incorporated into the VSculpts. So many possibilities with this software.

post-1284-1231818473_thumb.jpg

post-1284-1231818482_thumb.jpg

• Advanced Member

I am going to restart the sculpt tonight, but I had some questions for you guys. Please see attached image.

Also is there any way to carve away at a surface with a view or construction plane dependent cut? Right now all the brushes seem to start based off surface normals.

post-1284-1231940583_thumb.jpg

• Advanced Member

Welcome Parel!

Yeah - Claytools are used for production design a little, but the software works only with that clumsy manipulator - you can't use it with tablets

Cutting view dependant chunks - use ctrl+rectangular margue (E menu) - it will cut through so be careful. 2D Paint tool+ctrl does something similar

Transpose has Selet with Pen selection - select what you need then transform or scale along normal to flatten

Also i suggest not to use a material with cavity shading(bronze) for industrial design, since it shades voxel skin stepping

• Advanced Member

Here is an update. I think that I will do some 2D sketches, or find some Evangelion concepts to model to. That way everyone can knw what I am modelling to and suggest techniques. I feel like I dont have real control of what the surfaces are doing.

post-1284-1232286526_thumb.jpg