3DCoat Forums

Monkeybrains WIPs

Monkeybrain

• Advanced Member

My First WIP - thats a head - I think my first head what is looking good. But I used Silo for a low-poly-basemesh and 2 small photos from a mugshot for modelling. I didn't have until today made a good looking face until today. But I think looks good, or?

If you like - you can give me for my WIP nice ideas

Coz I'm a newbie ...

post-6985-0-76892800-1333815225_thumb.jp

• Advanced Member

its looks like a head indeed, but there is much more work to do :)

you should work more on the cheekbones,eyebrows and eyesocket first, because thats what catches the attention of people naturally.

what tools did you use? (move-tool?)

• Advanced Member

i use move-tool all the time for blocking out shapes, but its best for that tool imo, when starting with the smallest resolution (the smallest sphere in the start-info-box at the beginning of a new project),

then block shapes out and increase resolution,

otherwise i find it hard to get my models in good shapes, but thats only me :)

so no need to be carefully with that tool;)

• Advanced Member

today I did start to made my first upper part, somth. its not so easy, coz thats my real first try (I just did paint faces in artrage -2D) :) hmmmp ....

Also I see, thats good to work in layers, this is the good so its fluid - I did cut my head from the upper body part ... - I also want use more surface tools

... with carefully, I mean, thats often, that I have a lot of distorsions by the moving tool ;)

post-6985-0-40568700-1333881401_thumb.jp

• Advanced Member

Yesterday I finished the body/face ... and I work now with clothings. But today I tested the export to OBJ - and I failed :( - I'm just a little bit unhappy can smb. help me please? I know need a trick, how can I get good results in obj files - also with my computersystem. Coz I recognize that 16GB RAM could be to small for 3DCoat.