3DCoat Forums

Is 3D Coat good for product development vs Zbrush?

kevinpreuss

First off Hello,

My name is Kevin and I know little about sculpting in Zbrush or Mudbox.  I have been aware of those softwares for a few years though.

I just came across 3D Coat today.  What interested me was the fact that it creats new geometry then retopologizes the mesh(voxel sculpting).  I am an Industrial designer and since this creates new volume vs stretching polys, would this be a better tool to use for product development?

I need hard surface development

I need to be able to subset and delete surface 

I need layers, I need to ghost engineering data to build on top of

Can I sculpt an entire project then come back and separate the parts?  

Can I add transparency to the parts? Chrome? 

Is Voxel sculpting solids?  This would be interesting as I could then have rapid prototypes made.

Thanks in advance and if these questions have already been asked and answered, sorry.  I haven't come across them yet.

Kevin.

• Contributor

In the Voxel room, voxels are solids and make for easy booleans. After creating basic shape, switch to Surface mode. With layers, many of your questions are, "yes". "Can I add transparency to the parts?" I dunno, (you can hide selections) but chrome, certainly.

First off Hello,

My name is Kevin and I know little about sculpting in Zbrush or Mudbox.  I have been aware of those softwares for a few years though.

I just came across 3D Coat today.  What interested me was the fact that it creats new geometry then retopologizes the mesh(voxel sculpting).  I am an Industrial designer and since this creates new volume vs stretching polys, would this be a better tool to use for product development?

1. I need hard surface development

2. I need to be able to subset and delete surface 

3. I need layers, I need to ghost engineering data to build on top of

4. Can I sculpt an entire project then come back and separate the parts?