3DCoat Forums

[Solved] how to smooth poly mesh in 3d-coat for render without upping poly count ?

Daniel Tynan

Go to solution Solved by digman,

If any of you are Maya users, you will know that when modeling you can press "3" in maya to go into smooth mode.  if you had a simple cube it would become rounded into a ball unless you add in more edgeloops.  It does not add poly's just smooths out existing angles.   SO. . .how can I get the same effect in 3D-Coat with polygonal objects?  (I'm not talking about voxels here)   

I'm asking because I want to smooth preview an object in 3D-Coat  that I UV'ed and textured and use the render room too render it out in smoothed mode.  

Thank you,

Daniel

Hey Daniel,

While I am a Maya User, I am still new to 3D Coat so I could be wrong here. That being said, my professors explained to me that hitting the 3 key is literally just the same thing as "Subdividing".  You might be able to duplicate your Retopo mesh, subdivide the duplicate, and then send that over to the Render room for an idea of what it would look like once "smoothed" in Maya. 

• Contributor

Oh sorry, I just checked and it seems that 3D-Coat will subdivide, but it won't smooth the mesh simultaneously when it subdivides. It will allow you to relax the mesh, or auto snap it to another internal high poly mesh, but it will not perform the same kind of subdivision smoothing that you get in Maya.

In other words, it is possible in Maya and Zbrush to subdivide with or without smoothing, but in 3D-Coat it only seems to perform the subdivision WITHOUT smoothing. At least I have not found a way to turn that on...

Thanks Timmy. .  yeah if smooth subdivisions don't exist in 3D-Coat I guess that would be something to add to the new feature wish list.   I guess for now I'll just run the smooth mesh command in Maya on those parts and re-import into 3DC.