3DCoat Forums

syunikiso

Hi guys!

It's been few months since I bought my license of 3D Coat on steam, and I spent these just messing around, reading articles and watching some videos. 

But now I started to do some tests myself and I'll be posting here. 

I'm currently studying at CGMA Character Arts Program (I dream to one day land a job in the field) and they don't use 3D Coat there, but I"m trying to replicate what I can in 3D Coat too (is good because I do more stuff and at the same time I adapt my workflows since I bought 3D Coat to use for my commercial work). I don't have time to do that always but I'll try my best. 

In any case I also do some personal studies in the software too. I must say that when I tested the previous version (it was the version 3.7 I guess, I don't remember exactly) it felt almost like a nightmare to sculpt in; however, this new version is AMAZING. I want to always scupt more stuff sometimes just because of the software xD

Ok, so let's get started: 

I did this head after buying Grassetti's Gumroad Videos (pure awesomeness). I didn't started the anatomy classes in the program but knowledge is never too much, so I'm doodling and studying whenever I can.

119ozls.jpg

And I also did some fullbody characters (2 to be exactly). They were assignments of a current workshop of the program, however I had to use other software to do them. However, I noticed that I have huge problems in finding the leg sillhouette, so I started "investigating" this particular weakness and did these:

This first one was a "blocky" kind of leg, based on references of George Bridgman drawings.

9swmeb.jpg

And this one was made using several photos for reference:

30csu2f.jpg

I'll be posting more stuff soon (I hope). I'll be really grateful for any tips and critiques on my work, they will surely help me in my journey. 

THanks!

• Like 3

Hey guys, thanks for the kind words!