3DCoat Forums

import external mesh for re-topology

wangj011

Hi there im pretty new with 3D coat. Right now, im working on one of my character project, and i want to retopologize it inside 3D Coat. So, i exported my mid-level mesh from zbrush and imported it as a reference mesh in 3D coat, then i started the re topology process. But now, i decided to check N-gons and triangles and to retopologize some tight areas in MAYA. SO, i chose to export the mesh i left off in 3D coat , and finished the work inside Maya. But the problem is that i dont know how to re-import this mesh from MAYA and to be able to continue working it in 3d coat as every retopology function still working(snapping, brush tool, match with original reference mesh etc). I tried to hit import button and chose the obj i exported from Maya, then there is a mesh coming in, when i hit enter, it asks me whether i want this mesh to be snapped to voxel or reference mesh, i chose either one, it just automatically created a new retop group, and this group seems doesnt link to the mesh i imported. I can't hide mesh by clicking the eye icon or i cant use brush to move polygons or using add commands etc. The only thing i can do is i can slide edges...Please can some one help me with this issue, and tell me whats the correct way to import an external mesh with a previous reference mesh already being imported, so that i am able to continue working with it without losing any retopology tool functions. Thanks!

• Advanced Member

1. Import the reference mesh. Under file menu.

2. Go to retopo room, import under retopo menu.

3. 3DC asks you to snap the mesh, click NO!. Enter.

You may experience some trouble with non symmetrical meshes. Its a bug, Don't worry.

4. Solution: import for ppp and go to retopo room and import as above. Now it works.

Have fun.

Thanks for your help michalis!