3DCoat Forums

Which 3D package is recommended (Lightwave, Cinema 4D)

MattVG

I know this has been discussed many times before around the internet, but most discussions I've found are several years old.

I've been using Blender for a couple years but I'm interested in what else is available out there. I've had experience with Blender, ZBrush, 3D-Coat, Vue 8, and, before those, Animation Master.

I'm looking for a 3D package for:

Illustration (coupled with Photoshop, Painter, ZBrush, 3D-Coat, Vue)

The animation of shorts (not the wearable kind)

Miscellaneous media: splash screens, logo, etc... (to a lesser extent)

The two packages that stood out to me are Cinema 4D which seems to be gaining ground in the industry; and Lightwave which 3D-Coat strongly supports. I've downloaded the demos and am trying them out as we speak, but I'd like to hear people's experiences and opinions on Cinema 4D and Lightwave. Which will serve me best with the least hassle? What do you recommend?

Well of course it would depend who you ask. I personally am a LightWave user and recommend it to anyone. LightWave 10 is due out this month. 3D Artist magazine has a full page article on it in the current issue:

http://fb.me/LbBNebcs

BTW your avatar would fit in just perfectly on the NewTek forum.

I suspect there may be strong bias toward Lightwave on these forums :)

@Phil Nolan: What do you like most about Lightwave and what are some things that you wish were different?

• Reputable Contributor

I know this has been discussed many times before around the internet, but most discussions I've found are several years old.

I've been using Blender for a couple years but I'm interested in what else is available out there. I've had experience with Blender, ZBrush, 3D-Coat, Vue 8, and, before those, Animation Master.

I'm looking for a 3D package for:

Illustration (coupled with Photoshop, Painter, ZBrush, 3D-Coat, Vue)

The animation of shorts (not the wearable kind)