3DCoat Forums

[SOLVED] How to create a curvature map ?

Gian-Reto

• Advanced Member

This is really driving me mad:

I just started playing around with DDO. But it seems in order to REALLY use the tool to its full potential, you need a clean curvature map.

Now I haven't used curvature maps at all until now, and it seems there is no easy way to create one from 3D Coat.

I tried some solutions from the net which convert an AO or Height Texture to a Cavity map, this always resulted in a full white (or almost full white) curvature map in DDO. Just using photoshop to get a red / green map did not help either.

Now I know I might need to ask this in the DDO Forum, but as this Forum is now down for more than a day, and has little visitors, and my problem actually starts in 3D Coat because it does not bake this map, I'll try my luck here.

Anyone else here that use curvature maps in their pipeline, and how do you create it? If you use xNormal to bake, whats the best way to export a voxel sculpt to xNormals? an Autopo with millions of polies? does that even work? Is there any easy trick I miss besides baking in a different tool than 3D coat? Is there a hidden option in 3D Coat?

Seems Voxel Sculpts are not such a good idea anymore compared to polygon sculpts when 3D coat does not provide all necessary tools anymore in the Retopo room.

Thanks for any help.

Gian-Reto

• Contributor

Thats true, you cant create curvature maps inside 3d coat.

I need curvature maps too, and i use in my pipeline Substance Designer.

Substance Designer creates that curvature for me, based on the normalmap.

Not sure if xNormal could create it from the normalmap.

But you could always work with high and lowpoly that should not be a problem in xNormal.

• Reputable Contributor