3DCoat Forums

animal sculpt primitive

benk

• Advanced Member

I have been playing a bit with trying to set up a sculpting work flow for making a variety of animal forms. Referring to Goldfinger's Animal Anatomy for Artists I have modelled and rigged in Blender a generalized animal form that can be posed and altered to reflect various kind of animals. This in my mind is somewhat akin to a figurative sculptors approach to blocking out a subject on armatures. I am just beginning to see how functional this approach might be by importing into 3dc a big cat test derived from the general animal form in Blender. Do others see any value in this approach? Too tedious or systematic? Always happy to see any input the community might have.

Regards,

BK

post-38932-0-07813900-1426109020_thumb.p

post-38932-0-88637500-1426109024_thumb.p

• Like 3

• Reputable Contributor

This is in fact an outstanding workflow since we do not have a real posing tool for that kind of posing in 3DC yet... I know how to do basic rigging in Blender... This would work great on animals and for humanoids use one of the two rigs which already are available in Blender now.

I know what my next book is that I am going to buy... :D

Edited by digman

• Advanced Member

Thanks for the input Michaelgdrs and digman. I have refined the big cat posed primitive a bit to see how the work flow pans out. It does seem faster than loading up a number of primitive objects in 3DC. Especially so if one wishes to sculpt a number of different animals in a variety of poses. I guess some would argue that a finish sculpt of a subject should be done in a neutral pose and then posed afterwards. I have had problems with this in regards to animal forms as I have never had much luck getting the limb to trunk relations to work well when posed...especially in compact poses. I guess one could always separate the limbs from the trunk and pose them separately to overcome this problem.