Jump to content


Photo

Shrunken Head.obj?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Shawn Driscoll

Shawn Driscoll

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Interests:3D modeling, computer programming, architecture

Posted 31 March 2012 - 12:16 PM

This has probably been answered already somewhere. But why does the head.obj model shrink in size when importing the file with smoothing enabled?

#2 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 31 March 2012 - 01:55 PM

I assume you are talking about the micro vertex room with smooth object enabled?

I think the smooth object button is designed for Sub-D meshes when coming from another software package.

If you'd have a low res cube with 6 faces, use Sub-D on it then you would get a sphere.
What you can do is export the high res mesh obviously and then paint ontop of it but this way you will loose your low res model since the painting is based on the high res model's UV's.

When you export the low res cube (which has just 6 faces) and import into 3DCoat using "smooth object" you cube would become a sphere but when you press the shortcut "6" you will toggle between the high res/low res model.
The low res obviously being the model where the painting is based on.

I hope you understood all what I just said here.. :)

** edit **

I found a simple video that explains more in depth what this Sub-D does:


Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#3 Shawn Driscoll

Shawn Driscoll

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Interests:3D modeling, computer programming, architecture

Posted 31 March 2012 - 03:00 PM

I'm taking about PPP mode and importing the sample head.obj model with subdivision chosen.

http://www.shonner.c...n_smoothing.htm shows how low-poly objects do shrink a bit. With more polys, there is almost no shrinkage. The head.obj seems to have enough polys in it that it would not shrink when smoothed just a little.

Other sample OBJs don't shrink as much. My own OBJs don't shrink. So I'm wondering why the head.obj model is so small? Or is the camera being moved away from the model? I have to bring the camera in closer when this happens before I can do any painting.

#4 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:26 PM

Hmm im not sure what kind of shrinking you mean, can you post some screenshots please?
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#5 Shawn Driscoll

Shawn Driscoll

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Interests:3D modeling, computer programming, architecture

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:34 PM

Before and after smoothing.

Attached Thumbnails

  • unsmoothed.jpg
  • smoothed.jpg


#6 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:40 PM

Ah yes I see it now.. havent noticed this before, at first I tought you meant another kind of shrinking.
This looks like a bug to me..
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#7 Shawn Driscoll

Shawn Driscoll

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Interests:3D modeling, computer programming, architecture

Posted 31 March 2012 - 05:43 PM

If it is a bug, it's been one since version 2.0. I think it would have been fixed by now if it was a bug. Or am I the only one that can do this trick?

#8 johnnycore

johnnycore

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Breda, the Netherlands
  • Interests:Houdini
    C++
    C#
    Python
    Anatomy
    Rigging

Posted 31 March 2012 - 06:26 PM

The trick also works on my end, just never used the head.obj so I did not notice this.. :)
Johnny

Desktop: Intel core i7 2600k 4GHZ, nvidia GTX 560Ti 2048MB, 16GB DDR3 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64
Sony VAIO Laptop - Intel core i5 520M 2,4GHZ, nvidia GT330M 1024MB, 8GB DDR 1333mhz, Windows 8 Beta x64 - Linux Fedora 18 x64

My youtube channel: http://www.youtube.c...ohnnycorebrieee

#9 Shawn Driscoll

Shawn Driscoll

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, CA
  • Interests:3D modeling, computer programming, architecture

Posted 11 April 2012 - 09:00 PM

The bug is fixed in 3.7.10.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users