Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Easy Asset Creation

Modelling

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 21 March 2012 - 05:53 PM

Here is a free program (Autodesk 123D Catch Beta) that can speed up asset creation:

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#2 herve_bis

herve_bis

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Luxembourg

Posted 21 March 2012 - 06:16 PM

you can do the same in 3D coat... are you sure you posted in the right forum..?

anyway, I tried 3Dcatch... low result.... I prefer Pscan... a little money, but worth it.. :)

h/

#3 michalis

michalis

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,479 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:athens, now

Posted 21 March 2012 - 07:58 PM

Yeah, speed up I can't say. Zbrush isn't for this job obviously, lot of lost time.
Much better in blender, better topology tools, very easy transferring of multiple UVs to a new clean one etc etc.
Staying on free ware apps.
MACOSX,
3DC bug reports here:
http://www.3d-coat.com/mantis

#4 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 21 March 2012 - 10:13 PM

"you can do the same in 3D coat" Wow! I didn't know that. 123Catch needs 40 or 50 shots to get decent results. How many does it take in 3D Coat? Are there any tutorials? You can see why I thought this the appropriate forum. ^_^

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#5 The Candy-floss Kid

The Candy-floss Kid

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 March 2012 - 03:22 AM

Reminded me of this: kinda fiddly





parts 3 and four on youtube

#6 herve_bis

herve_bis

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Luxembourg

Posted 22 March 2012 - 09:26 AM

please read my post again.. I am just saying I use Pscan to do the same.. then I mport the model as Voxel in 3D coat for retpo.. that's what I said.. nothing more.. :)

and the results I get from it are 100 miles superior..

check it here..

http://www.agisoft.r...oscan/standard/

DL the demo and see by yourself..

#7 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,419 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 24 March 2012 - 05:41 AM

I used this sketch app when it used to be called Photofly (a better name IMO). It's OK but isn't really detailed enough for my liking. I "scanned" my friend's head with it and it had a lot of trouble with some areas.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#8 chingchong

chingchong

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Posted 04 May 2012 - 01:46 PM

Why should the first video be easier than the normal workflow?
Only advantage i can find is the foto-texturing, but modelling a chest like that would be done in a few clicks, why retopo a cube ;)?

#9 Tony Nemo

Tony Nemo

    Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,372 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Humboldt County, California

Posted 04 May 2012 - 08:32 PM

Even photo-texturing wouldn't take more than the 5 clicks needed fort the visible stuff. Their app uses dozens of camera clicks plus all the clicks necessary to use them in 3DC.

8 core 2.5 Xeon /12 gb RAM DX 64 Cuda / 560GTX-Ti. I always use the latest build.


#10 polyxo

polyxo

    Apprentice

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 700 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 May 2012 - 09:03 PM

Please don't forget: Not anyone works in Games and even needs Retopo.
Having marker-less scanning available from photos is extremely cool for many applications.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users