Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Mudbox AppLink


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#1 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 23 February 2011 - 02:26 PM

NEW INSTALLER IN NEXT POST

Andrew asked me to make a Mudbox plug-in to work with applink, so here's a beta for you to test out. This one is compield against the Mudbox 2011 SDK so will only work on mudbox 2011 and 2011 subscription advatange pack 64 Bit versions. The file enclosed is the raw plugin so a manual install is needed (the details are outlined in the readme file.) An installer version will follow. The big rule is you MUST save your mud scene file before use as it needs this to get the directory your mud file is in to work. If andrew add's the ability to import textures this is already in the plugin waiting to be exposed, but right now there is little point in exposing that portion.
Enjoy

Wayne...


Please log any bug that you come across in this thread.


Added:

Clean up files option in case you choose wrong option and don't have 3DC open.
fiels to support export back to mudbox now created automatically with correct contents.

Current known bugs:
Export as Alpha is not working
Export as voxel primitive overwrites the previous exported voxel primitive from mudbox and doesn't change the thumbnail.
Export back to mudbox very flakey and then only possible for subscription advantage pack version but still flakey
Clean up Files option will not delete the run.txt file
A crazy Cuda driver related error I still need to track down the source of.

Attached Files



#2 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 23 February 2011 - 03:02 PM

64 bit Mudbox 2011 installer version. (Zipped with WinRAR (www.rarlabs)

Wayne...

Attached Files



#3 BeatKitano

BeatKitano

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,504 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 February 2011 - 05:49 PM

I tried dropping mudbox mesh to 3dc as voxel object: 3dcoat crashes and ask for save before exit.

3dc: 3.5.13A ogl 64bits cuda
mudbox: 2011 64bits

#4 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,415 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 24 February 2011 - 12:19 AM

Hi Wayne, glad to see it's ready. :good:
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#5 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:55 PM

Version Update

some new stuff added although the sending to mudbox is VERY flakey at best at the moment. I'm also getting a cuda related error and I have no idea at the mo where that's coming form on my machine. I'm not sure if this will affect everyone or if its just a crazy thing to do with my nearly kaput dev machine. If you get it let me know in this thread.

Wayne...

#6 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:57 PM

Hey Wayne, this is a bit off topic, but what's it going to take to get 3DConnexion device support in Mudbox? All the other Autodesk programs support them. If they see the benefit with Max, Maya and Softimage, why in the world could they not see the benefit in their own Sculpting/Painting application? Working without one in any 3D environment is like eating cereal without the milk. Sure you CAN do it....but why? It's the one reason I don't use MB very often. Here's hoping 2012 comes with it.


A whole bepoke driver has to be written just for that device as the mud dev team is very small (and far smaller than you'd assume!) its not on the top of the priority list, although I wouldn't count it out of appearing at some point. As I dont touch driver related stuff I've not added that myself.

Wayne...

#7 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 25 February 2011 - 11:00 PM

I tried dropping mudbox mesh to 3dc as voxel object: 3dcoat crashes and ask for save before exit.

3dc: 3.5.13A ogl 64bits cuda
mudbox: 2011 64bits


There does seem a few cuda related things, the 3dc side of things I don't touch apart from the actual creation of the right file types and options. So I'm pretty sure I'm in the clear for those errors lol. I'll pass Andrew over a few details from my side of thngs to see if we can track down where the cuda error is coming from and try and solve it.

Wayne...

#8 BeatKitano

BeatKitano

    Expert

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,504 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 February 2011 - 10:20 AM

Dunno about Wayne's issue but I still crash the same way with cuda turned off.

#9 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 26 February 2011 - 09:49 PM

Wayne, if you go to the Voxel menu (in the Voxel room/woorkspace), you can turn CUDA off (checkbox). Can you try that an see if you're still having the same error?


Yep still getting it I'll attach the error that comes up in caae any one has a magic solution (Its also happening to me every time I try to export a FBX normally as well.)

Wayne...

Attached Thumbnails

  • exp-to-mud-error-(no-fbx-file-created).jpg


#10 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,415 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 26 February 2011 - 09:53 PM

When it crashes you should also get a web page that asks you to fill in your email address and a small description, then it will send the details on to Andrew.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#11 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 02 March 2011 - 12:40 AM

If I try to send to 3DC for Per Pixel Painting, Mudbox crashes. If I try to send it to voxels, 3DC crashes. If I try to send it to Microvertex, UV's or anything else, I get nothing...just the standard splash screen.



Thats odd as you should be able to get it easily from mud to 3dcoat as thats A1 solid code wise (very similar in fact to the code I've used for MudWalker for about 2 years now in that plugin.) Do you have UAC enabled by any chance? as that can interfere with a lot of stuff in many 3d apps, especially anything that sends info or data baack and forth.

Wayne...

#12 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 02 March 2011 - 01:16 AM

Drop to PPP instantly crashes MB 100% of the time. Dropping to Voxel's crashes 3DC 100% of the time. I have had UAC turned off since I installed Win 7. I learned about that with Vista. I've rebooted and re-installed the newest build of 3DC (3.5.14 Win w/CUDA). Here is a screen grab. Every time I try to drop something to 3DC, I either get a crash (as mentioned) or just the standard 3DC splash screen.

Video Capture:
http://www.screencas...69-78e3354469b7





Thats it doing the transfer on my dev machine.

Wayne...

#13 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 02 March 2011 - 11:23 AM

I tried a couple of different objects and was finally able to get one to work. Strange though...I couldn't get jack out of the default cube in Mudbox. The same crashes are still happening with 100% regularity...and I turned the darned 3DC splash screen off in preferences. When the model came in, as you can see in the video, I still had to import manually all the texture/normal maps, just as I would importing any other OBJ manually.

http://www.screencas...2a-4a576b8ce3c5



Yep that'd be because andrew didn't want / ask about importing of textures supported. His plan is for the textures to be supported on export back to mudbox, at least thats what he's contractd me to do anyway.

Wayne...

#14 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 05 March 2011 - 08:27 PM

I see, said the blind man... :p: didn't know that. I thought the idea was to have a 2-way street here. Oh well...BTW, why not put your website link in your signature so anyone interested in your training material or services can easily find you? I'm going to have to check some of it out myself.



Lol well I thought it bad manners to be honest as 90% of them are on mudbox. But I'll add a link if thers no objections.

Wayne...

#15 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,589 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 March 2011 - 11:42 AM

I tried to manage all problems described there.
I installed Trial of Mudbox 2011, but pressing 3D-Coat AppLink's buttons do nothing. Is it trial limittions?
No files are created in 3D-CoatV3/Exchange/ folder

#16 Wayne RObson

Wayne RObson

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Derwent Vallery, England

Posted 22 March 2011 - 02:29 PM

I tried to manage all problems described there.
I installed Trial of Mudbox 2011, but pressing 3D-Coat AppLink's buttons do nothing. Is it trial limittions?
No files are created in 3D-CoatV3/Exchange/ folder


Yep it proabbly is.....

The files are created this side but testing a simple fbx export is producing a mesh with unwelded points (that was the build fomr early last week, I've been away so haven't been able to check for any recent builds).


Wayne...

#17 3dCoatWannabe

3dCoatWannabe

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 07 April 2011 - 08:02 PM

Yep that'd be because andrew didn't want / ask about importing of textures supported. His plan is for the textures to be supported on export back to mudbox, at least thats what he's contractd me to do anyway.

Wayne...

I'd certainly like a two way street!!!

#18 haikalle

haikalle

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 18 December 2011 - 09:25 PM

Hello all. I'm coding Mudbox applink and it's starting to shaping up nicely. I think that in 2-3 weeks I'm ready for close beta testing. If there is someone
who wants to test this applink when it is in beta please let me know that...

#19 haikalle

haikalle

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 18 December 2011 - 09:59 PM

Glad to hear :) I will PM when time is right.

#20 haikalle

haikalle

    Journeymen

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Finland

Posted 22 February 2012 - 08:54 PM

Hi!

Here is a quick report. I had a great day today. I had one major problem with mudbox applink I really didn't know how to solve it. But today I found a way to do it :)
These are the moments that I really love when coding. The mudbox applink works already with fbx objects. I hope that I can have something to show very soon...




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users