Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

Houdini Applink


  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 December 2010 - 12:47 PM

First public demonstration. Please, leave comments, if you need some details. Thank you!

#2 dulo

dulo

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 11 December 2010 - 07:55 PM

Is it possible to share volumedata from an to 3d-coat / houdini ??
The real voxeldata from eg. an isosurface volume in houdini ? further sculpted in 3d-coat and brought back to houdini as a volume without any polygon converting !!!
Posted Image
www.woogieworks.at

martin dulovits
technical director

#3 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 12 December 2010 - 08:04 AM

Is it possible to share volumedata from an to 3d-coat / houdini ??
The real voxeldata from eg. an isosurface volume in houdini ? further sculpted in 3d-coat and brought back to houdini as a volume without any polygon converting !!!

No, since all data exchange is performed by OBJ-files, texture maps and some simple textual descriptions. We didn't consider this feature and we don't see such pipeline appropriate for production use.

#4 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,566 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 13 December 2010 - 02:02 PM

Do you have a release date?

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#5 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 December 2010 - 12:04 AM

We started beta-program.

You have to place 3DCoat.otl to path, where houdini may find it (OTL scanned paths) (for example - $HOME/houdini11.0/otls for Linux, $USERPROFILE/Documents/houdini11.0/otls for win)
You have to place 3dcoat.shelf to toolbar folder (for example - $HOME/houdini11.0/toolbar for Linux, $USERPROFILE/Documents/houdini11.0/toolbar for win)

3DCoat shelf contains just one button, which you have to use as start-point of organizing geometry for exporting to 3DCoat. You have to select objects or seklect them after button pressing.
COAT_OUT node will be created or reset with paths of your objects, so you may reuse it for export-inmport procedures, or rename it for later using.

This node is used as control frontend for 3DCoat data exchange. First parameter tab contains some parameters for exchange paths setup and object/material export control. Another tab used for holding import parameters. Third tab lists all object paths, it may be useful for checking, but you should'n add objects over there, since toolbar button's procedure setup objects for 3dcoat-excange procedure, and newly added object may contain not preparation nodes.

Attached Files



#6 Keating

Keating

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 14 December 2010 - 10:29 PM

Hello,

I've downloaded the .zip file you attached and installed both the shelf and the .otl files necessary. I am, however, having a little trouble getting the files into 3dcoat. Should I just important the .obj from 3dcoat as usual? I can't quite tell from your video what is happening.

Also, I don't seem to get the 'open in original app' option, that I see you using later in the video. Is there a 3dcoat plugin for 3dcoat itself?

Thank you for your time.





We started beta-program.

You have to place 3DCoat.otl to path, where houdini may find it (OTL scanned paths) (for example - $HOME/houdini11.0/otls for Linux, $USERPROFILE/Documents/houdini11.0/otls for win)
You have to place 3dcoat.shelf to toolbar folder (for example - $HOME/houdini11.0/toolbar for Linux, $USERPROFILE/Documents/houdini11.0/toolbar for win)

3DCoat shelf contains just one button, which you have to use as start-point of organizing geometry for exporting to 3DCoat. You have to select objects or seklect them after button pressing.
COAT_OUT node will be created or reset with paths of your objects, so you may reuse it for export-inmport procedures, or rename it for later using.

This node is used as control frontend for 3DCoat data exchange. First parameter tab contains some parameters for exchange paths setup and object/material export control. Another tab used for holding import parameters. Third tab lists all object paths, it may be useful for checking, but you should'n add objects over there, since toolbar button's procedure setup objects for 3dcoat-excange procedure, and newly added object may contain not preparation nodes.



#7 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 12:21 AM

Hello,

I've downloaded the .zip file you attached and installed both the shelf and the .otl files necessary. I am, however, having a little trouble getting the files into 3dcoat. Should I just important the .obj from 3dcoat as usual? I can't quite tell from your video what is happening.

Also, I don't seem to get the 'open in original app' option, that I see you using later in the video. Is there a 3dcoat plugin for 3dcoat itself?

Thank you for your time.


You need download latest version of 3DCoat.

#8 Keating

Keating

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 12:54 AM

You need download latest version of 3DCoat.



Hm, I don't think that's it. I have the latest version 3.5.05 64bit with CUDA support, for Windows.

#9 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 01:25 AM

Hm, I don't think that's it. I have the latest version 3.5.05 64bit with CUDA support, for Windows.


Okay. Do you press Export button, which is placed at "-> 3DCoat" tab at /obj/COAT_OUT attribute panel? Only after such operation you may get objects output to obj folder andimport instruction is spooled. Don't forget to save file too.

#10 Keating

Keating

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 01:34 AM

Okay. Do you press Export button, which is placed at "-> 3DCoat" tab at /obj/COAT_OUT attribute panel? Only after such operation you may get objects output to obj folder andimport instruction is spooled. Don't forget to save file too.



Yeah. So here's what I do, just to be clear.

Create an object. Use the 3dcoat shelf to create a COAT_OUT node using the object I created as a selection. Press 'export'. This does create an .obj in the appropriate directory. I go over to 3dcoat ( which is already open ).

Do I just 'import' the .obj?

Should 3dcoat open automatically? What is the appropriate procedure.

#11 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 01:38 AM

Yeah. So here's what I do, just to be clear.

Create an object. Use the 3dcoat shelf to create a COAT_OUT node using the object I created as a selection. Press 'export'. This does create an .obj in the appropriate directory. I go over to 3dcoat ( which is already open ).

Do I just 'import' the .obj?

Should 3dcoat open automatically? What is the appropriate procedure.


Coat must show automatically a dialog box, which offer you to import a model with some additional seup for import.
Do you see obj files at directory $HOME/3D-CoatV3/Exchange ? If you close Coat, and then press Export button - do you see import.txt file over there too?

#12 Keating

Keating

    Neophyte

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 02:03 AM

Coat must show automatically a dialog box, which offer you to import a model with some additional seup for import.
Do you see obj files at directory $HOME/3D-CoatV3/Exchange ? If you close Coat, and then press Export button - do you see import.txt file over there too?



Ahh ha. I've found the problem. I changed the $HOME/3D-CoatV3/Exchange to another directory, which I guess 3dcoat couldn't pick up. Changing it back to the original setting fixed the problem.

Thank you for the help!

#13 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 02:37 AM

Ahh ha. I've found the problem. I changed the $HOME/3D-CoatV3/Exchange to another directory, which I guess 3dcoat couldn't pick up. Changing it back to the original setting fixed the problem.

Thank you for the help!


We plan to do this directory for another purpose, than just path holder, so it is subject of change in that way, as you used it before.

#14 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 15 December 2010 - 02:44 AM

Attention, please!
Current Houdini build contains strange behaviour with GLSL-shaders, so, if you push "Get Maps Back" button and see, that your geometry hides-you just need to save hip, close houdini and open hip again with another session of houdini. I will inform about such bug to SESI.

#15 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 25 December 2010 - 12:30 AM

Did anybody use subj? Any feedback?

#16 leifdk

leifdk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:denmark

Posted 26 December 2010 - 04:15 PM

hey just found this and is seems to work thanx

#17 pbowmar

pbowmar

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 09 February 2011 - 11:27 PM

Hello,

There is a bug in the Python code for linux and OSX, this line:

fpath = fpath.replace('/','\\')

results in this being written to disk:

\data\home\bowmarp\3D-CoatV3\Exchange\import.txt

There are two solutions:

1) Simply remove the above line. Note that Houdini accepts (and in fact prefers) UNIX style paths, even if you're on Windows.
2) Use Python's "os.path" module which is platform independent.

Cheers,

Peter B

#18 pbowmar

pbowmar

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vancouver, BC, Canada

Posted 09 February 2011 - 11:44 PM

Also, just curious, why did you write your own OBJ exporter? Houdini saves .obj files natively that load into 3DCoat just fine... I can see why you'd want to write your own .mtl file (assuming it gets used by 3DCoat?) for the texture paths.

Cheers,

Peter B

#19 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 February 2011 - 11:46 AM

Hello,

There is a bug in the Python code for linux and OSX, this line:

fpath = fpath.replace('/','\\')

results in this being written to disk:

\data\home\bowmarp\3D-CoatV3\Exchange\import.txt

There are two solutions:

1) Simply remove the above line. Note that Houdini accepts (and in fact prefers) UNIX style paths, even if you're on Windows.
2) Use Python's "os.path" module which is platform independent.

Cheers,

Peter B


Thank you, Peter, I'll apply some changes these days.

#20 Boo Boo

Boo Boo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 10 February 2011 - 11:53 AM

Also, just curious, why did you write your own OBJ exporter? Houdini saves .obj files natively that load into 3DCoat just fine... I can see why you'd want to write your own .mtl file (assuming it gets used by 3DCoat?) for the texture paths.

Cheers,

Peter B


Yes, I need full access of obj-exporting, due to material-exporting and separation reasons too, and embedding some additional information, like slash-enabled sub-object paths.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users