Jump to content


Photo

Retopo room: Switch between transparent and solid mesh view


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,494 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 19 May 2010 - 11:15 AM

Hello.

In the retopo room currently you see the transparent version of your retopo result, what is really good for retopo work. No critiqes here.

But I would like to switch the transparency off, often. I would like to see a "regular view" of my retopo mesh to check the mesh surface.

Important too: To have the possibility to switch the wires off, if needed.

Best wishes
Chris

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#2 Roger_K

Roger_K

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 324 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:07 AM

Hello.

In the retopo room currently you see the transparent version of your retopo result, what is really good for retopo work. No critiqes here.

But I would like to switch the transparency off, often. I would like to see a "regular view" of my retopo mesh to check the mesh surface.

Important too: To have the possibility to switch the wires off, if needed.

Best wishes
Chris


Add to this Gouraud Shading and a live subdivision preview, and it would be totally awesome.
That which dosnt kill you can only make it easier for the next guy

i7 Quad 2.5ghz
4GB Ram
Windows 7 x64

#3 Taros

Taros

    Expert

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,494 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:Climbing

Posted 20 May 2010 - 09:08 AM

Add to this Gouraud Shading and a live subdivision preview, and it would be totally awesome.

A subdivision preview would kill the workflow. It is only interesting, after Andrew have implemented a multicore support for the retopo tab - as long as this is not solved, a subdivision preview will need too much cpu time and is currently not practicable.

Why do you need a subdivision preview? Give an example.

My tutorials on YouTube ----> http://www.youtube.c...raphicGladiator

My official 3D Coat blog ----> http://3dcoat.blogspot.com

My sculpting experiments on 3D Coat.com ----> http://3d-coat.com/f...?showtopic=1720

 

My official website ----> http://www.grafikbuero-werner.de
(My website is in german language, but I work for the international market too. Just drop a mail, if you are interested.)

German speaking CG Workshops ----> http://www.lernfaktor.de

trainingpartner_3dcoat_grey_mini.png


#4 pynion

pynion

    Newbie

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2012 - 05:49 AM

A subdivision preview would kill the workflow. It is only interesting, after Andrew have implemented a multicore support for the retopo tab - as long as this is not solved, a subdivision preview will need too much cpu time and is currently not practicable.

Why do you need a subdivision preview? Give an example.


When you want to have a non subdevided object for say, cinematics. You want the base mesh to be very low polygon and increase the sub-ds as the camera gets closer. you care less about how the base polygon mesh looks but want the sub-ds to look good.
This also applies to hard surface modeling. Have a very low base mesh.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users