Jump to content


Notice about Feature Requests & Bug Reports

The bug reporting and feature request forums (except for the Urgent Help section) are going away soon! Please use Mantis to report any bugs and feature requests. the link to Mantis is:
3d-coat.com/mantis/

Read more about it HERE.

Photo

3D-Coat 3.0 ALPHA


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
4486 replies to this topic

#81 Dilla

Dilla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 September 2008 - 09:29 PM

Are you referring to using an object as a tool or as a base mesh? You already can load an object as a base mesh with the Merge > Select Mesh function. I just loaded up a super simple head model that I'm playing with now. I posted a link to it a few posts ago if you want to download and try.


I was referring to using various geometric primitives or imported objects as a tool. These would replace the sphere 'primitive' that is currently used for all sculpting operations.

#82 tree321

tree321

    Novice

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 448 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:north carolina USA

Posted 07 September 2008 - 09:52 PM

Like this? http://www.screencast.com/t/oAL4Lh8zEo

Using 0 or 9 rotates,

#83 Dilla

Dilla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 September 2008 - 09:58 PM

Like this? <a href="http://www.screencast.com/t/oAL4Lh8zEo" target="_blank">http://www.screencast.com/t/oAL4Lh8zEo</a>

Using 0 or 9 rotates,


Yes, that's it exactly. Fantastic!

Looks like I need to take a look at that 'merge' tool after all! ;)

#84 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 08 September 2008 - 03:36 AM

Been playing around with this... it's great fun!



Then how about using other geometric primitives instead of a sphere/ellipsoid? A cube perhaps, or a torus? One could even imagine loading up a custom mesh to sculpt with (a face/skull, some 3D logo/graphic, etc.)

Also, how about using 3D procedurals to modulate the sculpt, like so...

Posted Image


3D procedurals would be very very useful with volumetric sculpting! and of course, we need symmetry for VS.
Freelance Character Artist

#85 PoopaScoop

PoopaScoop

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 118 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London

Posted 08 September 2008 - 05:22 AM

3D procedurals would be very very useful with volumetric sculpting! and of course, we need symmetry for VS.


Some kind of Volumtric-Procedural-3D-mapping/sculpting tool would be dope!
I think this Vol' idea will shine with some hard surface like tools. First 1 that comes to mind is Boolean.


The want list must be stupidly big by now, Andrew must have all features known to man asked for by now! I just hope he can climb over the garbage to get to the gems :)

#86 bwtr

bwtr

    Honored Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2008 - 05:29 AM

I believe this is what it's normally called in Maya, Max, Vue, etc. A Universal Manipulator, or universal gizmo. One "device" that can control move/rotate/scale.


Nowdays it is becoming uncommon to find an app without the Universal /manipulator-gizmo.

Brian

#87 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,407 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 08 September 2008 - 07:26 AM

Nowdays it is becoming uncommon to find an app without the Universal /manipulator-gizmo.


I guess that's why people are getting annoyed that LightWave doesn't yet have it.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#88 Dilla

Dilla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2008 - 10:56 AM

I'm getting some strange behaviour from the carve tool here. Try the following:

1) Activate the 'Merge' Tool.
2) Go to 'Select Mesh' and pick the cube.obj.
3) Select 'On pen'.
4) Paint with the cube, holding down STRG and using a bigger radius.
5) Select the 'Carve' tool, turn down the radius and paint along the edges/slopes.
6) While carving, every once in a while the carve will shoot out into screen space in long tubes (see attached image).

Attached Thumbnails

  • carve_tool_bug.gif


#89 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,407 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 08 September 2008 - 03:59 PM

I'm getting some strange behaviour from the carve tool here. Try the following:

1) Activate the 'Merge' Tool.
2) Go to 'Select Mesh' and pick the cube.obj.
3) Select 'On pen'.
4) Paint with the cube, holding down STRG and using a bigger radius.
5) Select the 'Carve' tool, turn down the radius and paint along the edges/slopes.
6) While carving, every once in a while the carve will shoot out into screen space in long tubes (see attached image).


What's STRG? I have that happen frequently with just the default sphere pen.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#90 Dilla

Dilla

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2008 - 04:37 PM

What's STRG? I have that happen frequently with just the default sphere pen.


That's CTRL... got a german keyboard! :rolleyes:

#91 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,586 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2008 - 06:07 PM

I have updated the link. Now:

1) Volumetric tool works with symmetry
2) Universal handlers are done.
*edit:
3) Much more powerful smoothing depending on pressure.

Besides the volumetric tool, retopo tool was improved:

1) Merge in scene hull of object - well if your reference mesh consists on meny intersecting objects
2) Pose retopo mesh befor merging using universal manipulator

#92 Juan Carlos Montes

Juan Carlos Montes

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 08 September 2008 - 07:45 PM

Nice!!! dowloading now

#93 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,407 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 08 September 2008 - 07:56 PM

1) Volumetric tool works with symmetry
*edit:
3) Much more powerful smoothing depending on pressure.


These are the things I was hoping for most! Yay!
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#94 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:05 PM

I have updated the link. Now:

1) Volumetric tool works with symmetry
2) Universal handlers are done.
*edit:
3) Much more powerful smoothing depending on pressure.

Besides the volumetric tool, retopo tool was improved:

1) Merge in scene hull of object - well if your reference mesh consists on meny intersecting objects
2) Pose retopo mesh befor merging using universal manipulator


Cool, you got symmetry working, all that is needed now is import mesh :). I found one bug, with the 2D-paint.

1. select 2D-paint
2. select another tool any tool with left mouse button, and it'll create a small sphere on screen, just move the VS tool palette out of the way and you'll see it.

Well there be a way to control how depth/strength of the "Carve" tool? this would be handy and needed. I suggest using the "Depth" slider to control the strength of the carve tool. Yeah..im using a mouse.

I think you also about the universal handles(can't undo scale/rotate/translate) bug. Last bug, the Draw with pen, tends to skip when painting strokes. Speaking of strokes,in this alpha, the smoothing seems to be too strong with the Carve tool, there should be a way to control how strong or weak(maybe with the smoothing slider?)
Freelance Character Artist

#95 stevecullum

stevecullum

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:26 PM

This is great fun! :)

Is it possible to convert creations to mesh for painting - I'm wondering how conversion will work - will it output quads or triangles?

#96 philnolan3d

philnolan3d

    Master

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,407 posts

  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA, USA
  • Interests:3D, martial arts, anime, gaming, contact juggling

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:28 PM

This is great fun! :)

Is it possible to convert creations to mesh for painting - I'm wondering how conversion will work - will it output quads or triangles?


Yes I was thinking earlier that would be cool to switch back and forth between voxel mode and poly mode. In which case this could replace the old sculpt tool.
Phil Nolan
Generalist
www.philnolan3d.com - Twitter - Google+
Desktop: Win8.1 Pro x64, Core i7 3.4 GHz, GeForce GT 640, 16GB RAM
Laptop: Vista Home Prem x86, Core 2 Duo, 1.5 GHz, GeForce 8600M GS, 2GB RAM

#97 SonK

SonK

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California
  • Interests:3DCG!, video games.

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:31 PM

This is great fun! :)



Is it possible to convert creations to mesh for painting - I'm wondering how conversion will work - will it output quads or triangles?


Agree its alot of fun, gets better with every update!

Well the voxel themselves generate triangles, that''s you currently see on screen. You'll probably need to use the retopology tool to create a proper low res mesh. Of course you can't use the topology tool on the voxel mesh in alpha version.
Freelance Character Artist

#98 Andrew Shpagin

Andrew Shpagin

    3DC creator & admin

  • 3D-Coat Developer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,586 posts

  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 September 2008 - 08:58 PM

Btw, I forgot to mention - BIG thanks to evryone who helps me to answer support question. It is big time saving to me and help to community.
I can work faster with your help.

#99 stevecullum

stevecullum

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 146 posts

Posted 08 September 2008 - 09:06 PM

Well the voxel themselves generate triangles, that''s you currently see on screen. You'll probably need to use the retopology tool to create a proper low res mesh. Of course you can't use the topology tool on the voxel mesh in alpha version.


Ah ok. So it could generate a hires triangle mesh and then we would use re-top to create the base mesh and then export to a displacement map?

I think as a sculpting tool, is spanks the ngons off a poly method! - Great work Andrew :D

#100 Juan Carlos Montes

Juan Carlos Montes

    Novice

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Chicago

Posted 08 September 2008 - 11:51 PM

I found that If you Move a panel example the palette over the sphere don't stop the painting.

I you use the curve tool and used over the sphere hit enter then press undo twice, erase the sphere.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users